Families logo

Dive into foreign love

Love Alarm

By Appolonia BarnettPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

Everybody loves romance. No matter how intelligent you are, and you think of love as one of the most foolish feelings ever to be created; You still hope that love finds you one day. You still wish another foolish thing, for a soulmate you can share your life with. No matter the background we all yearn or strive to be loved in the end. One of the best romances shows you could ever entertain yourself with is rom coms.

The biggest thing Asian about me was my great great grandfather was a China man, who came to my great, great grandmothers island and sowed his seeds and ran back to China to his original family. Scandalous huh? Well, I never took interest in learning that part of my history until I was introduced to anime. A forever always friend introduced me to my very first anime, knowing I would be hook about four years ago. It was one of the moments I hit rock bottom, and no one knew what to do to pull me out. You could say my will to fight for someone dear to my heart and Anime was my savior.

My first anime was Bleach, which I am already very excited for the new season coming out. Bleach has so many lessons in there for a person to learn to become successful or at least realize their dreams and their meaning of success. The options are limitless if you really look. There is always a way to come out on top if your intentions are true and genuine. Never give up. The very lessons I needed at the time in my life, as it was dark. I still thank our Master for not making it any darker than that for right now. From there I took interest into learning more. That’s a lie. From there as an adult, I took interest, but I was always into learning Asian history and pretending I from Tibet as a child in her imaginary days. Harsh life took me away from that. One of best friends a few years ago brought me back into the love of Asians and I have been slowly doing what I can on my very limited funds to self-learn as much as possible,

I remember when I went back to that forever friend’s house and let them know I finished it and what should I watch next, I was introduced to DXD High School. Which I am very sad to know they didn’t complete their seasons. My interest though kept growing, because with that I started to learn that embracing your demons allows you to control them, which is more of a powerful tool. Also, it gives a different light and perspective on the heavens, hell and earth. Which calls to me spiritually. When something touches my soul my run with it. So, I decided I didn’t want to watch in dub anymore and I wanted to learn as much as possible of the Asian culture as possible and plan to visit all of them and contribute a piece of my life to them somehow. I hopped on to Netflix and vawla I am watching my first rom com.

I didn’t know they were considered rom coms until later though. My first romcom ever was called love alarm. Absolutely love it. They came out with the English version, but I did watch it in Korean its original language and read the subtitles. Love alarm is about a love triangle and a man who created the app and their love stories. The app would ring if you came into within a 10-meter radius of someone who loves you. Kim JoJo female lead has one of the saddest stories ever. Don’t be surprised if tears come pouring out from her story line alone. Wang Sun-oh and Lee Hye-Yeong are the male leads stuck in this love triangle. A son who came back from studying abroad and his best friend who was the son of the family’s maid happened to have a crush on the same girl. Lee of course had a crush on her for a longer time and was too afraid to confess to her. Wang happened to meet Kim following Lee to see why he was ignoring him and fell in love with her at that moment. The boys decided to let love alarm and JoJo decide who gets her. Normally I would say, and you know how the rest goes but it has a nice surprise. Me being split on the ending it was a bittersweet ending.

The twist and drama, along with the love triangle makes it so fascinating. The creator story as well is full of suspense and sadness as well. There may be plenty of tears involved as well. Does she fall in love with both or one? What is the outcome? I hate more than ever shows you can predict everything to. It takes away from the interest to me. Love alarm you really feel your own heartbeat race, your tears fall, you are smiling and laughing for no reason, and if you are watching it with anyone a lot of high fives. The bond between brotherhood, will it be tested, if so, what was the outcome and the hardships all experienced separately, as well as together. The audio is offered in seven languages which is rare for these romcoms on Netflix but let me tell you it’s a great show worth watching.

movie review
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.