Families logo

Diary of a broken girl

Entry 1

By Crystal StrakerPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1

Dear Diary,

Today seemed so normal for the most part. I didn’t wake up sad or angry which was odd but oh well. I got dressed ate breakfast and went to school. Oh by the way if you’re reading this my name is... We’ll leave my name out for a while until I’m ready to truly introduce myself.

Anyway, so I got to first period and I sat next to my best friend Savia. See I’ve known Savia since 6th grade. She moved here from Iowa. She’s like the first black girl I know that’s from there lol. Normally I’m angry but today I think she noticed how I felt because she kept smiling at me. She’s so weird lol. As first, second, & third period came and went, it seemed like the day was going by fast. Honestly by lunch I really thought I was gonna have a meltdown but I didn’t. Which I’m surprised because by now I would be in the nurse office crying my eyes out.

Before I knew it the day was over and Savia and I were walking home. She telling me about the boys she like and all I’m thinking is why tf do I have to go home?! I hate the end of the school day. Going to school everyday is an escape, my life at home is a nightmare. Savia asks me if I wanted to chill with her but I said no against my better judgment. She went home and then I walked the rest of the way to my house.

Ugh home * rolls eyes *. Nobody here cares enough about me and they don’t see that I’m different. They don’t understand that I’m slowly dying on the inside. My mom is so wrapped up in her husband and he’s an asshole. He acts like he’s my father and he’s not. My mom don’t help do shit in this house and she barely takes care of my sister and I, oh and also she’s on just about every drug out there. Well maybe not every drug but meth don’t make it any better. It’s like everyday it’s a war zone. They smoke that shit and drink then the fights happen.

Oh and guess what, my mom doesn’t know that my stepfather tries to sleep with me when she’s passed out drunk and high. I swear she caught him sneaking into my room one time but I’m not too sure tho. I keep a knife under my pillow just in case he decides to touch me. I really wanna tell my mom but I’m not sure how she will take it and I pray she believes me.

Well diary I have some bruises to clean before I do my homework. I won’t keep you waiting too long. I promise I will return with an update

Stayed tuned for more

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.