Families logo

Deep in the woods

The red barn

By Zelda FoxxPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Deep in the woods, there it was. I had been hiking for a while and I was tired. I sat on a rock, and enjoyed a ray of sunlight drifting through the tree I sat under. I put my head back and let the rays bathe me and basked in the peace for a minute, listening to the chirping birds and squirrels as they skittered up and down trees.

I had not had a moment like this in a while. My life was so busy with children and my teaching job. 2020 had been quite a year with the pandemic and I was fried to a crisp. I had no time to myself. Finally an opportunity came up where my husband took the kids out of town and I got a chance to do my favorite thing, hike by myself with nothing but my favorite music pumping through my ear phone, and when I got tired of that I would listen to nature sounds.

I was following a small stream and the babble also added a nice additive to the bird and squirrel sounds. And yet I was so tired. I had walked much longer then I had in a long time. I was severely out of shape. I had not had much time or energy to get in shape this year. In fact I had gained another 10 pounds on the top of the 40 I had to lose from stress eating over the past 4 years.

This was the start of a healthier life style, and even though I was tried, I was satisfied at the five mile hike I completed. After a little rest, I would turn back and start the trek home.

I got up from the rock, and hitched my back pack more comfortably on my shoulders. It was light. It held my cell phone, some water and a couple of granola bars. Fortunately the cell reception was good in case an emergency happened. I was 40 and had ruined my knees in my 20s because of running. I was always worried my knee would go out hiking. It had happened before.

As I got up and stretched and began to turn around to go back the way I came, I spotted something off in the near distance. The sun glistened off a window. Curious, I walked closer to see what structure had a window this far into the woods.

I was tired and I knew I wanted to get back before dark, but curiosity got the better of me. I had to see what the structure was, so instead of turning right, I turned left. I traveled through some thicker brush and saw it over a bit of ridge. It was a huge dilapidated red barn. The paint was weather worn throughout, but the red color still showed through in many spots. There was a door hanging off its hinges.

I knew it was a potential danger to go in an old abandoned barn, the whole structure could fall down on me. Yet, I couldn't ignore it. My adventurous spirit spurred me on. I walked toward it and as I got closer all of a sudden a deathly silence descended on the forest. What in the actual heck?

Committed, I walked towards the barn. I felt compelled to see what was inside. I pushed open an old stripped door. There was not much to see. An old counter held some type of old farm equipment. I did not recognize it as I was more drawn into another room off to the left of the main room.

I entered and gasped. In the room was a shimmering curtain that undulated two feet above the ground. Despite my instincts my sense of adventure kept driving me on and I felt compelled to put my hand through.

As I pushed my hand through it disappeared. There was no pain, so against my rational side I stuck a foot through and before I knew it I was yanked through. It felt like diving into a pool and then having a seizure and coming to after inhaling some water. I gasped on the ground for a bit trying to get my bearings and cursing myself for not turning back to my very normal, desired life.

I had fallen on the ground. I sat up and breathed and tried to see where I was. I saw a similar dark room as the one I left. Then all of a sudden a child came running in that suspiciously looked similar to my daughter. As I looked closer, I realized she was not my daughter but looked more like me as a child. I stood up, unsure quite how to greet her, but then I realized she could not even see me. She ran right past me to an adult in the corner.

"Daddy, daddy! Look what I did! Look at my report card!" The father looked at the report card closely and in a stern voice, "You got too many C's? Why?"

The child, who I realized very quickly, was a younger version of me, tearfully said, "But see Daddy, I got A in math." My father said, "But what about the C's. You cannot do ban until you get your grades up."

The little girl collapsed into tears and then the picture I was staring at wavered. When it came into clarity again there was an adult girl standing there with a bag over her shoulder. "Dad, I am going to college to be a teacher!"

"Why? You will regret it."

"Well Dad, I want to change the world!"

He said nothing and I turned around and left.

The scene shimmered and changed again.

There was a room illuminated. My father was on a bed and did not look well. An older version of me entered the room.

"Dad, I came. I love you and forgive you. I know you just wanted what is best for me."

"Yes, I am sorry for how I treated you. I do love you. I really just wanted to protect you. "

"I know Dad. I love you."

And then the older version of me held his hand until he passed.

All of a sudden the scene changed again and I was thrown back into the room I was in. I gasped for breath. I was not sure what type of magic or sorcery or time travel had happened. I realized I was given a gift, which was a glimpse into my future and the past. I had had an estranged relationship with my father. I knew I had a chance to change that before he was on his death bed.

I took a deep breath and gathered myself and left the farm house. As I stated down the trail I glanced back and realized the farm house was no longer there. I vowed to take what I had learned and try to fix my relationships. I hope other people had the chance I did.

I decided to take the chances I was given and risk love and kindness. It was time.

grandparents
Like

About the Creator

Zelda Foxx

Mother of two facing a mid life crisis or finally living my dreams of trying to make something of my words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.