Families logo

Death in Dreams

Experiencing meeting the dead in dreams

By Sara SparrowPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

Death in dreams is said to be a symbol that something in your life is changing or ending. Or is it? Or is it our subconscious missing our loved ones and we are crying out that we miss them? Symbols in dreams is one of those unexplained mysteries in life that only us our selves can answer. We all go though our personal experiences and dream about family members, friends, places that we used to visit when we are children and unusual bizarre fantasy worlds made up in our heads. The dream world is a fantastic place to be. Facing dead people in our dreams opens up a whole new world and lets us visit our old friends and familes, we know that they are happy and laid to rest.

My own personal experience of meeting the dead in dreams is facing my Grandparents. They were both taken by the cruel disease Alzheimer's. Then a few years ago I started to dream about going to their house in a small town and experiencing life from when I was a child. It made me feel happy and sad to be there. Happy knowing they were alive on my dreams, but then sad when I woke up realising that they aren't here anymore.

One dream stands out that I think of regularly. I am in their house, the living room, sitting on the white cream chair, my Grandad sitting to the left on the settee and my Gran comes trotting in. "Maltesers anyone?" she asks holding a box of them. "Yes please Gran!" I call out and she hands me them. "What about me?" Grandad asks. "Your sweets are in the kitchen" she says and shuffles back into the kitchen. I laugh, my Grandad has a great sense of humour, he always comes back with a witty comment.

"Eeee she's always making me get everything that woman" he giggles and walks into the kitchen. I follow behind eager to join in the kitchen. I feel a smile growing on my face, my Gran and Grandad both together, just like old times. My Grandad sits near Gran at the table, my mum reading the newspaper and my Gran with a cup of tea.

"What do you want?" Gran snaps. "I want to be with youuu" Grandad sings, me and my Mum laugh. I feel tears welling up in my eyes. I am finally here, in my Grandparents house, with my Gran and Grandad, we are all happy.

"Are you happy?" I ask Gran. "I'm quite happy love, I mean I'm stil married to your Grandad but I'm still happy" she says sipping her tea. "And I you darling" Grandad says kissing her on the cheek. "Get away!" Gran snaps. "Go and watch the television and fall asleep will you?" Grandad steps up and bows towards her. "Anything for you darling" he trots out of the room. I sit in the chair facing my Gran, she sings like she used to. Beautifully. This experience of being here makes me feel the happiest person in the world, until I wake up to reality that is.

grandparents
Like

About the Creator

Sara Sparrow

Diagonally parked in the universe.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.