Families logo

Dear You...

An open letter from an African American single mom

By Latoya Giles Published 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Dear heros and sheros,

I am thankful for you. Being kind and selfless, helping the way you...

I wanted to say to say thanks using more than verbal words spoken out loud, I settled on a poem to start off and finish in a letter, words written down.

I look up to you, many others do too, I'm sure you already knew...I mean how could you not?

You model behaviors that could save this world, save humanity in seemingly one fell swoop. Just promise that in saving others, you don't forget to save you too.

People toss around certain words a lot in society. Words that I think have heavy meanings. Words like "friend", "love" or "hero" in particular. Your boyfriend got you a can of soda from the fridge when you were super thirsty, "thanks babe! You're my hero!". A hero is a person who is admired or idealized for courage, outstanding achievements, or noble qualities. As a young, black single mother in America, there aren't many heroes around. At least that's what popular opinion suggests. I decided to look a little closer. A hero can be found anywhere. A hero can be anyone. I was so lucky to come across you. To be born into your world...mom. You have been making sacrifices for me since I was conceived. You sacrificed your comfort: a huge belly poking out in front of you blocking your view of your feet. You sacrificed your body: weight gain and physical body changes inside and out, like gestational diabetes. You sacrificed your profession: changing jobs for more money and a safer environment. Still to this day you make sacrifices for me: your time to watch my daughters while I work long hours to make ends meet. Thank you...

"Daddy's little girl", I have the words tattooed on my chest, right across my heart. You are now, always have been and always will be my favorite man in the world. You showed me what a man should look, smell and act like by simply being yourself. A diagnosis of lymphoma when I was 17 crushed me. I thought I was gonna lose you. I would've lost myself. My daughters would not be here either. God saw fit to let you stay. I am so grateful daily. Thank you daddy. God, you get my gratitude too!

My oldest daughter, you were a hero all this time and you had no idea. You are a hero. Yes, you! I became your mother at a very young age, 20 to be exact. I didn't have a full time job, a car or my own place to live. Life had been relentlessly beating me down when I found out about you. Your dad decided to walk away, but you know I'm here. I will always be here. Until my very last breath. Why are you my hero? Well sweetheart, you gave me a reason to stay alive. I decided not to commit suicide because of you. I knew it would hurt you. I knew you would be left alone in the world.

All the other African American single moms out there are heroes, my heroes. Giving all you have and still pushing forward when you are running on fumes.I know what it is like to be in the bathroom at midnight crying. I know how it feels to go to bed hungry because you wanted to make sure your kids were full. I have felt the anxiety of seeing an eviction notice on the door and telling the kids it isn't a big deal and worrying about where the money will come from. We gon' make it mamas! We got this! Thank you ladies. Thank you mommy. Thank you God. Our journey's are not done. We have further to go and more to do. I am nothing without you!

My beloved heroes, you complete me...we are BRAVE we are LOVED, we are FREE!

Yours Truly,

Inspired

values
1

About the Creator

Latoya Giles

I'm just a single mom tryna make it. Come with me on my journey through life in writing... "A dream deferred is not a dream denied"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.