Families logo

Dear Daddy

From Your One-And-A-Half-Year-Old Daughter

By AKSweety907 AngelPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Hello Daddy. Welcome back home after being away for two weeks on the oil rig working for your family.

I’ve missed you; I have grown so much since you last saw me, two weeks ago; but you didn’t ask how I was doing, didn’t ask for photos or cute videos of me, or even ask how your three stepchildren were doing. I felt sad but figured maybe you were busy with something important at work or tired.

But you are home now. Now you can play with me inside & outside, right? You have plenty of time for me now, right!?!

You came into the house, got changed into more comfortable clothing. I waited for you to be done to give me and my sister & brothers some love. You gave me a big hug and kiss, which made me excited that Daddy wanted to spend time with me and play with me finally.

But that was short-lived, because as you started to walk away, not paying attention to me running to grab my favorite toy to play with you, by the time I was turned around to come back to you, you had already disappeared into the garage where you would spend the rest of your two weeks home every day glued to your Xbox or PC, playing or watching video games. As I got to the door, before it latched, I did my cute little scream to get your attention, but it didn’t work, like many times before.

As I sigh to myself, I turn and see Mama in tears because she was paying enough attention to me to realize that her little baby girl's heart just got broken and let down again, just like her own. I try not to bug Mama because Mama is growing my future baby brother or sister. As she sees me discouraged and sad that you don’t want to spend time with me, she picks up my pink truck to play with me, to try to make me happier. I love her so much for this, but it makes me sad; she tries and tries to get you to see what you’re doing, but it always ends up with Mama being wrong, and it starts a fight, which make my Mama sad, disappointed, depressed, and exhausted (with having to play two roles in the house).

Daddy, you get so upset whenever I don’t want you to hold me, kiss me, tickle me or play with me; then you look at Mama as if she had something to do with it when in fact it was your fault. It's alright. Sometimes certain people are not made out for being or handling being a parent. But maybe if you took half of your day just to play with me, teach me stuff, feed me, take care of me, then maybe we would have a better relationship. For now, we are just strangers passing each other every two weeks, kind of like you and Mama. I hope that changes before you realize that you have missed too much and there is no way to mend this situation.

Dear Daddy,

I love you, and I just wish I was a priority in your life like your video games are to you. Please try to understand I just want your time, love, and effort.

I will leave you be and go play with my siblings and Mama. Hopefully next time Mama tries to talk to you about this, you’ll realize what you are missing out on. Until then, I will try to wait a bit longer, but not too long, as even I will realize that maybe I should just move on.

children
Like

About the Creator

AKSweety907 Angel

I'm a SAHM(stay at home mama) of 4 & Oil Field Wife, Army Veteran 07-11, Gamer, Homesteader in Alaska! I do a variety of Live Streams on Twitch; Gaming, Artwork & Poultry Raising Tutorial Streams over at www.twitch.tv/aksweety907

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.