Families logo

Dear Amber,

An opened letter to my mentor, my daughter

By Karolyn Denson LandrieuxPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
1
Yogi and Boo Boo

Dear Amber,

You are a hometown hero!

There is no way that I could have known 37 years ago that you would become this dynamic force that is destined to change the world. Although there were definitely clues.

You arrived not only a month early but in only 4 hours time. While I was carrying you, I knew without a doubt that you were a girl. I dreamed of what you would look like. A golden child with gold hair and gold eyes and golden skin. I knew so strongly that you were a girl that I didn’t waste my time choosing boy names. I chose Amber because it means precious jewel. You arrived into our world when you decided to be here. I should have realized then that you were someone to be reckoned with. You had your own mind and always have. You are my precious jewel and the best thing that I have ever done in my lifetime.

I never needed to “train” you as a baby. You stopped taking a bottle and a pacifier on your own. You would take off your dirty diapers and hand them over as if to stay remove this soiled garment from me. You began preschool at eighteen months and never looked backwards. You skipped kindergarten to go straight into the first grade. You wrote those funny and cleaver stories when you were not more than five. You created THE NEWLY NEWS, a newsletter at nine. You collected rocks and money from around the world. You would rather read a book than watch TV. And let’s not forget your ability to make money from the time that you knew what money was. You always had a side hustle. From helping to collect parking meter money with grandpa, to collecting cans, to selling cool air to the neighborhood kids ~three minutes in front of the fan for a nickel~ on hot summer days. You became a paramedic when you were a college student and drove a giant ambulance through the streets of Pittsburgh. You have always have been clever and hard working.

I remember when you were sixteen you decide that you wanted to help people. You decided that you would be a psychologist. I said why not become a doctor? And then you did just that. But not just any old basic doctor. After graduating top of your high school class you did a summer program called Quest for students of color at the University of Pittsburgh. While most young people were going to the beach or at the very least a swimming pool somewhere the summer before college, you were setting the course for your life. You spent your college summers doing medical programs in Equador, Barbados and almost Brazil. You could have graduated from the University of Pittsburgh when you were nineteen, but instead chose to study abroad in the south of France. You graduated magna cum laude with a BS in Psychology and was awarded a scholarship to medical school at Thomas Jefferson University. I remember how proud I was during the white coat ceremony! And as if going to medical school wasn’t enough you decided to get an MBA from Weidner at the same time. Your four years of medical school became five years of study. You were powered through even if you were always underestimated. After your three years of residency at Johns Hopkins you began your fellowship to become a cardiologist at UPMC. You got married. You had a baby and decided to get another masters degree. Masters of Science in research. You had another baby. You finished your fellowship and began a career as a clinician and a researcher winning awards at both along the way. You are amazing in my eyes.

You are a mother, a black female cardiologist, a research scientist, a mentor, a professor, a facilitator, a consultant, gourmet cook, a dancer, a media star, a creative and you speak French and Spanish. Your research is timely and needed. Health equity and women’s health equity from a black woman’s point of view is long overdue. You have won more awards for your works than I can count. All the while remaining humble. You are tall, beautiful and so well spoken to the point that people have asked if your a model. You are gracious and funny. You have more letters behind your name than you have letters in your name. You are a fantastic mommy. Your girls are a joy. You have three jobs that pay you and many more that don’t. You work for the community and volunteer your time and talents. You speak publicly for the greater good. You are without a doubt a hometown hero in Pittsburgh. You have been featured on radio shows, television and your papers have been published nationally.

I remember that you told me that you wanted to be a doctor not for the money or the power, but to help people. You change peoples lives. You save peoples lives. You have changed my life for certain.

I have no idea how I got to be the mother of such an amazing human. I don’t know why I was chosen for such an honor. I’m grateful and happy that I was and that I got to be a part of your incredible journey. I am proud and amazed. Along the way you have guided me and taught me so much. You have helped me to become the woman that I am just by being your mom. I grew into my true potential because of you.

For the longest time it was only me and you. Yogi and Boo Boo. We’ve traveled together, we’ve eaten meals around the world together, we’ve danced to and sang music together, we’ve laughed ourselves silly and we’ve had our moments that all mothers and daughters do. I tried so hard to be supportive and loving. I tried to give you all of the things that I wasn’t able to have. Opportunities that you have had, were never an option for me. Our ancestors are indeed overjoyed with your success. I know that this is just the beginning for you. I know that there is so much in store for you. Continue on in peace and power. Your trajectory is all the way up. And I’m here for all of it.

I love you so much,

Mom

values
1

About the Creator

Karolyn Denson Landrieux

Karolyn lives in Paris and Pittsburgh. She loves travel and has travelled most of the world, she enjoys time at home with family. Whether it's cooking, painting, designing or writing, creativity is her passion. @karolynd88 @maxineandbeanie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.