Families logo

Dad’s Birthday

A short story.

By RiaPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
PhotCredit: Piotr Arnoldes

{So I’ve come to the conclusion that I like storytelling. It's one of my favourite things to do and I do it so naturally. I always have a story to tell. A lot of the time, my stories are about the crazy dreams/nightmares I have. I decided that I’m going to start a series on here about the weird and wonderful adventures/stories I cook up in my head… in my sleep.🙂 I hope you enjoy them as much i do.}

We’ll start off with a wholesome, recurring dream. I’ve had this dream since the age of around 7 or 8 but it’s based on a younger version of myself (a 4/5 year old Ria). Enjoy!

"""It was Dad’s birthday. I was dressed in the cutest black velvet dress and garnet buckle shoes. The curls on my head were open, flying around in the wind as we left home.

By the time we reached Nani’s* house to celebrate, it was pouring down with rain.

As we parked up, the rain was getting heavier, thumping down on the car windows. Strangely, it was a sight that comforted me.

Nani was standing at the door, arms wide open. My face instantly lit up with joy. I pushed the car door open, hopped out and ran towards her, my soft curls getting drenched and sticking to my face. I hugged her so tight.

I clambered onto the cream sofa with the shiny red and black floral pattern and kicked off my tiny shoes. Dad and Nani joined me. Nani stuck to her usual spot in the living room. We talked for a while and then Nani disappeared into the kitchen and I followed after her like a lemming.

She opened the fridge, and there, on a gold rimmed plate, sat a chocolate iced cake with “H-A-P-P-Y B-I-R-T-H-D-A-Y” in red fondant carefully placed over the top. My excitement poured out as I pranced around with joy. She placed the cake on the counter top and pierced through the thick icing with 3 blue and white candles. She lit them up, picked up the plate and began cautiously walking back to the living room.

She placed the cake on a small tea table and in unison, we began singing “Happy Birthday” to dad. A huge smile spread across his face. He giggled a little, slightly embarrassed that Nani had gone to the trouble of making a cake specially for him.

“Make a wish, Daddy! Make a wish!” I cheered.

Dad made a wish and blew out his candles. I crawled into his lap as he cut the cake."""

…. I wake up at the exact same moment every time! 😌

*Nani = Maternal Grandmother

Note: These are my short stories. They may not always be extreme but they are ALWAYS personal. They are not real but a lot of the time they include real people, places and things in my life.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Ria

Rubbish at writing but LOVE storytelling 😌

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.