Families logo

Creating Magic

The return to childhood.

By Lauren BluettPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Cass is a Universe Fae.

When I was little, I would dream of Faeries and worlds where magick was everywhere. Where hag stones were portals to Faerie realms and voices whispered and sang on the wind. There was music playing and hidden pathways, faerie rings and magick potions. I would read The Magic Faraway tree and long for friends like Silky and Moon face. Hours were spent in the long grass, chatting with lady bugs and laying still so the Fae wouldn’t be scared away. At some point in time, we are all told to put childish things away. We are told that faeries and magick aren’t real, and that its time to grow up. Dolls are put away and stories are left on the shelf. The thing is, I never did that. And over the years I’ve created magick in different forms. Painting, drawing, mini fashions for dolls. But none quite gave me the same joy I experienced when I was a little girl.

Remember when you were little and you had that one special doll? You know the one, they came everywhere with you. They guarded you in your sleep, they protected you from monsters, you talked with them and adventured with them. You told them all of your secrets and they had a special part in your heart, (and probably still do, between you and me. And don’t worry your secret is safe). Your childhood memories always included them, and there are many photos as proof. Over time, some toys became over produced and cheap. With so many options available these days, it's easy to get lost in a sea of plastic and it makes it incredibly hard for children to form a special bond with them. Choosing quantity over quality, flashy gimmicks over sustainable and handmade. I saw my own children’s toy boxes over flowing with things they didn’t even play with. I wanted more for them.

I wanted to create something special for my kids. Something sacred and full of its very own magick. And that’s when my Fae came to life. Trial and error lead to a unique and special pattern. But not content with just an ordinary doll, I then set about finding and engineering a variety of techniques to enhance my Fae.

Starting with hand painting water colour on to our 100% cotton base, which includes a splatter for their first layer of freckles and a free form of water colour across their faces. Our cotton bases come in a variety of shades to create a more inclusive range. I then continue the process with hand drawn unique patterns or symbols on their faces. Next up, using 100% cotton embroidery thread, I hand embroider facial detailing and their patterns or symbols, adding texture to their faces. To complete the facial process, I use fabric markers to add depth to the freckles.

Once the faces are ready, and the bodies are sewn up (using 100% cotton machine thread) I stuff them using eucalyptus fibre and if requested add a chosen scent (from a list of available scents). Choosing from an amazing selection of 100% merino wool felt, I design their Fae fashions and wings, hand sewing directly on to the body. Water colour on their legs/stockings comes next. Creating a fun finish with a pair of Fae shoes. Wool hair is sewn and glued to the Fae’s head and then styled. And lastly comes all the beautiful little design elements that give them special even more personalised touch. Hair beads and trinkets, Fae dust and resin crystals for their pouches.

Each Fae is then named and given an age, career, likes and dislikes enclosed in a sealed envelope as part of a field guide excerpt. This story has been created and has been read to the little’s as a bed time story and is also part of a larger range of field guide excerpts.

Each and every Fae has been creating with love, magick and passion. My hope is to capture moments of childhood for the human little's, that the Fae choose to live with.

It’s time to believe in magic again. Because there really is magick in the world we just have to believe.

children
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.