Families logo

Cozy and Covid

Living my Best Life

By Christina AtterburyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
#onlychild

Covid & Cozy ....

So here we are all cozy in the thick of Covid! I mean as a collective we are all cozy working from home, zooming non-stop, finding ways to “party” virtually , and just exist! Now some folks may think that this is the worst thing ever, but for a lady like myself I love it!

I mean i get to be sunkissed daily while sitting on my patio, i only have to be “ zoom “ camera ready which means lipstick ( maybe ) , fancy shirt , and sweats on the bottom because nooo way can see me from the waist down !

I’m living what we call “ my best life.”!

Well until last night when i get a call from Mom ! Now don’t get me wrong being the only child has it’s quirks, but during my Cozy and Covid time ... it looks a little different!

Mom in her ever sweet voice suggested that I “ Cozy and Covid “ with her so we both won’t be alone. She is a great salesperson too! I mean who wouldn’t want hot meals , QT time, oh and unlimited Hallmark movies !

While here , I enjoy the Southern sun and the warm smiles beaming from the neighbors faces on their porches.

One thing I can never find is a pen ! I still have to work you know ! While looking tirelessly for a ink pen ( i know something so small), I come across moms extremely old black address book . Growing up this book housed Everything! The number to call if you got locked out, the neighbor two doors down who made the amazing apple pie , uncle Henry who could fix anything , and the list goes on and on. The one thing I wasn’t expecting was a note for me.

Dear Sunshine , You are the reason I strive to live my BEST Life!

You are my greatest gift ! By the time you read this I hope you are living your Best Life too!

I found myself a little confused ... I mean of course I’m living my best life , I learned from the master ! Inside Mom’s short but sweet note , I see a small white envelope with my name printed ever so neatly.

I sat down on mom’s chair that she would often sit in and read and often times write in her little black book.

My heart was racing , my hands started to shake , and I had no idea what was in this small white envelope.

I began to open the envelope slowly , only to find what would be one of the biggest surprises ever !

Mom left me a 20,000 check ! My eyes started to swell, and I covered my mouth so I wouldn’t scream!

Who would have thought that a simple hunt for a pen would end in a life changing 20,000 check ?!

I held the check so tightly to my heart as the tears streamed down my face.

When I finally opened my eyes , I noticed a small index card ...

Dear Sunshine , you finally found it !

I have been saving since I found out that I was going to be your mom ! I wanted to be able to give you something that you could use to live the life you choose ! I’m so proud of you ... you live freely , you are smart , and I see so much of myself in you ! You better make sure you tell me when you have found this letter or else I’m going to think I’m going crazy, or that you have been snooping and in my business! LOL

I’m just kidding ... I always told you that my black book was “ grown folks business”, but it really just had my old grocery list , bills, oh and a few numbers from a few gentlemen! haha

Well momma has to live too girl !

Seriously , enjoy the fruits of my labor and truly live your BEST LIFE!

Love,

Mom

literature
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.