Families logo

Christmas Package

An Unforgettable Holiday

By Winter LynnPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

Dear Arthur,

I sure do miss you. I wish you were here to spend Christmas with the grandkids and me. It just isn’t the same without you. Susan took off again and left the kids with me. Megan is worried sick about her mom, but the boys haven’t said much about her. They spend all their time down the road playing with a new boy that just moved to the neighborhood. He seems like a nice kid. I keep reminding Justin and Jonathan not to wear out their welcome down there. But you know how those boys are. I just can’t tell them anything.

We got a strange package today. It’s wrapped in plain brown paper, and it must weigh 20 pounds. It doesn’t have an address label or anything. It was on the porch by the door when I went to let the dogs out this morning. I thought it might be cookies or some sort of homemade treats from one of the neighbors, but it weights too much to be anything like that.

I just put it under the tree, and I suppose I will let the kids open it in the morning. Unless you think I should wait for you to get home? Just let me know what you want me to do with it.

I hope you have Internet where you are and can message me back soon. I am putting the turkey in the oven then I am off to bed. Those kids are going to be up before daybreak ready to see what Santa brought!

All my love,

Margaret

##

Good morning Margaret,

At least it will be morning by time you see this. I am so sorry I can’t be there for you and the grands, but, as you know, this assignment I’m on is very important.

About Susan, we must let her find her own way. We raised her well. Alcohol and drugs are running her life and making her choices for her right now. That’s the only reason I can imagine for her running off and leaving her kids. Good Lord willing, maybe she will turn her life around someday. We can only hope. Until then, all we can do is take care of the kids and try to reassure them. It’s not their fault their mother has chosen this lifestyle.

As for Justin and Jonathan, tell them I am bringing some artifacts and fossils home for them. I have some great souvenirs for Megan as well. Maybe you can all come with me on the next dig.

Before I forget, about that package, you might ask around and see if any of the neighbors know anything about it. I don’t think it’s a good idea to let the kids open it since we have no way of knowing what’s in it. Maybe it was misdelivered. It may belong to one of the neighbors. It’s hard to tell, but just hold off on opening it for now.

It’s late here so I better get some sleep. The guys are planning to strike out before sunup in the morning. Such is the life of an archeologist.

Merry Christmas, see you all soon!

Arthur

##

Hey Grandpa! Megan here! When are you coming home? I told Grandma I wanted to wait until you are home to open my gifts, but she said it will be a couple of more weeks. You know, Mom is still gone, and she hasn’t even called. I am worried something has happened to her. How could she miss Christmas? Do you think she is okay? Grandma thinks she is just drinking a lot and has lost track of time. We got a package yesterday, but it’s not addressed to anyone. The boys think it was from Santa, but I think it could be from our mom. Can we open it? Please? Grandma says to wait until you are here but that’s a long time away. We can send you pics of what’s inside! Please, Grandpa?

All my love,

Megan

##

Megan, I already told your grandma the package might not even be for us. You just need to wait until I get home and I will take a look at it. In the meantime, just enjoy the Christmas break. I will be home before you know it.

Love, Grandpa

##

Dear Arthur,

Megan was none too happy with your last message. She really believes the package is from Susan. I have asked all around the neighborhood. No one knows anything about it. I don’t know what to think. At this point, I am beginning to wonder if or when we will ever hear from our daughter, and it scares me. I will give it a few more days but if we don’t hear from her soon, I think it’s time to report her missing.

Love you,

Margaret

##

Dear Grandpa,

Grandma has been crying all day and she says it’s just because she misses you. I think she is missing my mom too. I don’t know what day it is where you are but it’s the day after Christmas here. I can’t believe she would miss Christmas with us. I am really worried. I hope she comes home soon. I miss her so much.

Love,

Megan

##

Arthur,

You will never believe what happened. Last night the kids and I went to a New Year’s Eve gathering down at the community center. When we came home, there was another package on the front porch. It’s wrapped in plain brown paper, just like the last one. It really concerns me. I think I am going to open them to see what this is all about. I will wait for your reply, but I hope you don’t keep me waiting too long.

Much Love,

Margaret

##

Margaret,

Please wait for me to come home. I will be there in a few days. What about Susan, any word? Also, how are Meg and the boys doing? I sure miss you all.

See you soon,

Arthur

##

Oh Arthur! The most wonderful thing happened today. There was a knock at the door first thing this morning. I wondered if it could be another package and it was. This time it wasn’t left on the porch. Susan was holding it! It turns out she has been in rehab. She has 21 days sober today. She sent those packages to the kids since she couldn’t be here for the Holidays. She sent them by way of her AA sponsor. Isn’t that the most wonderful news? I just can’t wait for you to come home so we can have a real Christmas celebration!

All my love,

Margaret

##

grandparents
Like

About the Creator

Winter Lynn

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.