Families logo

Brotherly Love

Dangerous Bikes

By Thomas R Dorsett JrPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Make sure you check the bolts.

Teenage brothers are closer then any form of relationship there is. Secrets are created, memories made, and games played. But what about the fights, the evil secrets the pranks.

Of course all the bad stuff between siblings is never meant to be an issue. Just fun. As years pass, they become fond memories. Just as long as nothing serious ever happens.

I remember one prank that my younger brother played on me. He was the best. Growing up in a very country town in New York, there wasn't much to do except play outside, ride bikes, go swimming, and chance girls. When we could.

One particular summer day, I took my brothers bike and let the air out of the tires. When I got on it, I told him "Look you are getting fat you popped your tires". Ha ha.... We fixed the bike, and went on with the day.

The next day was my turn to be the butt of the joke. My brother got up early, and being creative like he was, took the bolt out of my handle bar frame connection. Who looks at bolts, right. I should have.

We decided that it would be awesome to jump our bikes off a homemade ramp across a small creek. Our mother warned us that it looked and sounded like a terrible idea. We were teenage boys... who care about danger... that is what it is all about, right.

Well, my brother went down the hill first. He hit the ramp dead on and up and over the creek. What a jump. Awesome. If we had cameras and YouTube back then it would go viral.

Now my turn. I must point out that, that still did not realize that my loving brother removed to bolt from my handlebars. So off I went. Pedaling to beat the wind. I hit the ramp solid. Up I went. I pulled the handlebars up to make sure my rear tire hit the ground first. Imagine my surprise when the handlebars came out of the frame. Needless to say, my landing was something to put into the history books. Stunt riders would have been proud.

The landing went great. Sort of.. I hit solid. But, without handlebars, couldn't control the landing. I discovered, very quickly that the breaks on my bike, were on on my handlebars which were dangling by my pedals. The trees and brush got closer, and my brothers laughter got louder. It would have been a prank of the century. Except for the crash, the cut head, and the angry mother, it was a lot of fun.

Brothers till the end. That is what people say. Yet time forces brothers apart. Once in a while you actually get to hang out when you are older. Or close families have summer reunions. No matter the time that has passed, or the distance that may set you apart, siblings have a bond like no other. You should find the time to get together and let the memories of youth flow, and photos of time be seen, and everyone and I mean all of the family can get out and have some great laughs.

Now, today, if something like that was done to a sibling, parents would lose their minds. It seems each generation changes. Some for the better, but mostly for the worst. Families fall prey to the lifestyle of change and progress. Technology has forced siblings indoors. Outside fun is something of the past. Parents are afraid of people. Crime is high. Strange things happen in an instant. But, a good loving prank still will place a bond in a siblings life that can never be broke.

Pranks are fun until someone gets hurt. But, a little pain and youth bonding goes a long long way towards long term love. I did some pretty mean pranks to my brother, and he, in return, got his revenge. Yet, time is chasing the memories away. If the world continues has it is, pranks will be considered attempts at harm, or evil acts of potential violence. I think a good youth prank can not cause harm, but create a bond that can not be broken. "Blood brothers" for life. They are not just warriors, but strong bonded siblings. So have you children enjoy their youth. Watch them with love and security, but let them grow.

Just remember to look at all the bolts in the bike... Not just the tires.... You never know if your sibling has a hidden talent for pranks in him.

siblings
Like

About the Creator

Thomas R Dorsett Jr

Writers have a unique way of putting the imagination into overdrive. I have read and re-read several different classics and wondered what it would be like to write one someday. I hope to achieve that goal by my golden years.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.