Families logo

Brockport, New York

My storybook village nestled along the Erie Canal.

By Kristen ViscardiPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

What can I say about my little upstate town in western New York? I was born and raised in Brockport and raised my children here. I don’t believe I’ve ever understood the value of this little hidden gem, before now. This historical little storybook college town nestled along the Erie Canal looks like a scene out of the movies. Its Victorian buildings give it the charm of something magical.

Brockport has quaint, privately owned shops along the main street in the original buildings from the 1800s. This ideal village is also the home to our State College which hosted the International Summer Special Olympics in 1979. I was a young child when the Special Olympics came to Brockport, but I certainly remember the buzz around town. It was a huge deal for us! Celebrities, professional athletes, and sportscasters from around the world came to support the Special Olympics in our town that took four years to prepare for.

Athletes from all 50 states and 24 foreign countries participated that year. The Soviet Union gifted us two enormous statues that are standing tall and proud on the Brockport State campus today. Influential people like the Kennedys, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Muhammad Ali, Christopher Reeve’s and athletes such as Hank Aaron, Aaron, Pele, Bobby Orr were all there. What a magical time for Brockport and special memories for me because my Uncle who has passed, participated in the 1979 Special Olympics.

Brockport even has the original movie theatre built in 1907, called the “Strand.” At one time, Brockport housed two movie theatres, the “Strand,” and the “Studio.” Back in the day, they were the place to be! The “Studio” had couches in the back row of the theatre for seating. There are so many cool facets and memories in our town but as a kid, a few of my favorite areas of interest were Roller World and Arnold Palmer miniature golf. Those were the days before the internet and cell phones. Local kids hopped on their bikes, rounded up their friends, and found their fun. Not to mention the corner stores that sold penny candy and the ice cream stands that you waited in long lines to order a cone after a summer baseball game.

Nowadays Brockport’s huge appeal is the college and perhaps the welcome center that serves over 600 boats as a destination stop for the canal traveler. Once you dock your boat, you can pick up a free bike to ride around town to access our local shops, bars, and restaurants. The Erie Canal runs from Buffalo to Albany and was once the longest artificial waterway in North America. It is a huge attraction for boaters, historians, bikers, walkers, and runners. If you are looking for a little fishing action, Brockport is just miles away from Lake Ontario, one of the finger lakes in New York. Lake Ontario feels more like an ocean with the volume of water it covers, and for a kid growing up with a father who chartered fishing trips, I spent much of my childhood there. The lake is stocked with salmon, trout, bass, walleye, and carp.

Did I mention that Brockport also has a ski hill and a sledding hill in Northampton Park? There are so many things to do in this town that enjoys all 4-season s of the year. If you’re looking for a country appeal or a more rural atmosphere, look no further! We have many farms, farm markets, golf courses, parks, and hunting. We offer picturesque scenery coupled with all the modern amenities and an olden day vibe in the heart of the village.

I spent many years wanting to move out of the town I grew up in, not realizing how blessed I was to be part of such a great community. There is a country charm and a sense of unity among the residents. I am proud to be called a “townie” from Brockport and witness my children growing up with their cousins and grandparents.

So if you ever happen to be traveling in upstate western New York, take a side trip to Brockport, stop for a bite to eat at Barber’s for their famous Balboa, visits some of our local shops, or have a nice cold beverage at Custom House while sitting along the Erie Canal. There is always local live music offered in the summer along the canal to make your visit memorable.

travel
1

About the Creator

Kristen Viscardi

I’m just a lady who still believes in dreams manifesting. I’ve raised my 3 kids as a single mom working multiple jobs and now I am looking for what makes me happy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.