Families logo

Books and Authors to Make Your Kids Read When They Finish Their Summer Reading

And Maybe You Too

By MaverickPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

We have all heard of summer reading, but it always comes to an end way too soon. I am a huge fan of reading, no kidding, my mom used to have to ground me from it. My mom made me read books all the time during the summer, but she didn't let me read fun books. I had to read books like Old Yeller (I Cried), Where The Red Fern Grows ( I cried), and Gone With The Wind (I didn't cry, but have you seen how long that book is?). These books are fun and have good stories in them. Trust me, I still read them.

'The Phantom Tollbooth' - Norton Juster

Photo Creds:https://goo.gl/images/72D73L

I first read this book in the seventh grade, after I found it in my english teachers personal library. Sadly, she has passed away now, but she would have loved to know how much this books means to me now. It is my number one favorite book of all time. It is not an adult book, but it is so well written that you find a new thing to learn every time you read it, no matter how old you are.

The Magic Tree House series - Mary Pope Osborne

This is HUGE series and it is unisex. Your sons and daughters will both love this series. I stopped reading these sometime in middle school, but I still read a few of them when I want to feel like a kid again. Mary Pope Osborne takes big historical events and turns them into an adventure. I have always loved history, but these books defiantly peeked my interest in the subject more than it was. Your kids won't even know they are learning when the fall in love with this series.

Beverly Cleary

Beverly Cleary has a lot of books out, but a lot of them are more girly themed books. She wasn't my favorite author read as a child, but she did tell a good story. Her books are considerably more relatable than the afore mentioned books, but they are shorter and older than other books your kids could read. Not that books ever go out of style.

Shel Silverstein

Obviously, Shel Silverstein would be on this list. Silverstein was known for his poetry and the illustrations that go along with it. The books I have pictured are from my collection, but I have recently required some copies from when my parents were children. These timeless capsules of poetry are good, educational ways to sneak some life lessons into your children's minds. I would encourage you to start with The Giving Tree. It is a personal favorite and good story about growing up and giving what you can. It always makes me smile!

Rick Riordan

Start with The Lightning Thief series (Not Pictured above)

THIS MAN IS A GOD. I'm kidding, he writes about them. Either way, Riordan is an excellent author who writes about all types of mythology. He started with Greek mythology and then extended into Roman, Egyptian, and Norse mythology. This is another one of those educational and fun reads. Just whatever you do, DO NOT watch the movies. You can thank me later.

'Cam Jansen' - David A. Adler

This series wasn't all that popular when I was reading it, but it is really good. Its a mystery series about a little girl and her best friend. It is super cute and it defiantly gave my best friend and I the belief that we were private investigators. Books that encourage imagination are the best, especially when you kids already have an overactive imagination like my bestie and I did. Who am I kidding? We still love to use our imagination.

Your Favorite Book

Even thought demon spawn we raise seem to be plotting our death, they really do what to get to know you. I encourage parents to share their favorite books from their childhood with their kiddos. It might spark a conversation your kids , or you, need to have. Have fun reading!

book reviews
Like

About the Creator

Maverick

Writer. Lover. Dog Mom. Step Mom.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.