Families logo

Being Better Than Before

The Challenging World

By Trino M.Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Being Better Than Before
Photo by Ditto Bowo on Unsplash

I take pride in being kind to all and remembering that most often the apples don’t fall far from the tree. My mother was Godly driven and she raised her children with God being first and always reminded me that being kind was easy. The energy you use to be other than is a wasted flow and in the end you get nothing out of it.

Treating everyone the way you want to be treated is the golden rule. I maintain that quality of just being kind my whole life and It too makes me feel good inside out because everyone deserves kindness, regardless of your race. I 100% of the time keep it real and authentic. Ive always put peoples feelings first. You don’t have to be friends to be kind. Just a simple hello, good morning or afternoon can change the way someone day is going. I love to see the smile on anyone’s face and it’s my job to try and make that happen. A smile usually can change a mood if the timing is right.

I’m always mindful to others and try showing as much compassion as needed by just thinking before acting. It’s like opening a door and leaving it open while it’s 20 degrees outside. Me I will make sure that door is closed and will not swing open on it’s on by ensuring that it latched shut.

Sometimes you have to be the teacher as actions speak louder than words. Showing in your actions that things matter rather than just talking about it, will help those that are not mindful to become more mindful. We should all foster empathy. Give someone standing who’s visibly hurt or an elderly person your seat.

Helping others in your spare time and giving back where you live can also show a level of kindness. You can’t choose who lives in your community but it’s best to embrace all as our backgrounds may not be the same but we are all human and should always be treated with the upmost respect. I was raised to treat everyone with the same equality and respect because no matter who you are or where you came from, you deserve that. We all do. We are all individuals and should not be labeled to any group. Self awareness can help you to not be judgmental or prejudiced. We all have a story.

Your response to how someone treats you will be judged by God. With that in mind helps to determine whether or not to be as kind and giving as you can be. If it matters to you. I love to give and when I can’t give as much as I’d like to, I have to learn to except it. I’ve let little things like that eat at me at times but I am now learning that you can only give what you can. Sometimes you may not be able to give anything. Still keep your head high.

Staying positive all the time and getting away from toxic people is a must. You have to learn to lead than follow. We all make mistakes and some of us are still learning. You teach to do your best and behave kindly, but to know when you fall short and apologize even if it wasn’t intentional.

My Steps so far to date has been:

Smile at everyone even strangers

Be mindful

Assist without having to be asked

Praise

Honesty

Be a roll model

Share

Include everyone

Being transparent

Do more research

Be a voice and speak up for people

Watch who I socialize with

Show up for others

Accept criticism and move on

Diversitify

advice
Like

About the Creator

Trino M.

I'm no writer, but I'm willing to learn. I haven't written anything ever since high school. Long compound-complex sentences, that I'm not so good at using punctuation, “Is the death of my writing. I will get better, that I can guarantee.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.