Families logo

Being a Single Dad

Having a Teenage daughter.

By One Single DadPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

So I have been a single dad for about 2 years now and let me tell you, it has not been easy. Now when I say that I have been a single dad, I mean that I get my kids every two weeks and the when they are not with me, they are with their mother, But no matter how much you have your kids in my opinion, you are still a single dad. You still have to worry about the well being of your kids, you still have to feed them and bathe them and make sure that they are taken care of. So no matter what, I am a single dad! That being said, I am a single dad to a 13 year old daughter and a 6 year old son. Now my son is easy to handle, all I have to do is make sure that minecraft is on my phone or playstation, or make sure that I have the latest farming game on my phone. (he usually lives on a farm with his mother and her parents.)

My daughter on the other hand, is the hard one. Now I had it pretty easy while I was married because I had her mother there to help me because lets face it, I was just like any other dad in a marriage with a daughter "coming to age" and just had her mother take care of the hard stuff that came with a preteen daughter. But now that I am on my own, it has been hard to take care of "that time of month". I am pretty sure I talk for many single dads out there that have that same issue. Now don't get me wrong, I have a few females in my family that I can rely on when it comes to the questions that I might have or to keep me from locking my daughter in a closet and throwing chocolate bars at her when that certain "Aunt Flow" comes to visit but unless I call them 24/7 about every little issue that I have with my daughter, I am pretty much flying solo. Now the majority of the time that I have my kids, they are well behaved and I don't have an issue keeping them in check but for some reason, when my daughter gets to that time of the month, it's like a demon has risen!! (need to start keeping a wooden cross around just to keep the demon at bay!) I've gotten pretty lucky these last few months though and her cycle has been happening while she is with her mother so I am good with that.

My biggest advice to that single dad out there that has a daughter going through all of this is to keep plenty of chocolate around!! Now I can hear all of the moms and women out there yelling at their computers or phones or however you are reading this but give me a break! I'm just a dad that really doesn't have a clue on his own about raising kids. I mean I do but i'm no expert or anything! That being said though, I am a DAD and not a mom so I am a guy and not a woman and don't know much about that time of month, and even though I was married for 12 years, every time I knew that it was getting close for the demon to make an appearance to my wife, I was always outside working or staying away! I knew better then that! So I was never around to witness the horrors of it all. Well I was sometimes but you get the picture. If I knew that I was going to have to one day take care of this on my own then yes I would have paid more attention but who knows that they are actually going to be divorced in the future? I know that there are always signs but no one ever wants to think about those right?

Anyways, yes having a teenage daughter is definitely a challenge at some times but you know what? I wouldn't trade her for the world and no matter what, she is still my baby girl! (now where did I put that cross?)

children
Like

About the Creator

One Single Dad

Just a single dad trying to make a difference for his kids one day at a time.

I want this page to be about many different things, from stories that I have written to different topics that are on my mind at the time to even just ramblings!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.