Families logo

Being a Mum...

I would like to share my pregnancy and life so far as a young mum... pro's and con's!

By Rebecca StubbsPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like
My little lady only hours old. Excuse the feet.

I've never done anything like this so here goes.

My journey begins somewhere around this time last year when my partner and I found out that, surprise surprise, we were pregnant. I found out by my colleagues at work joking around because Icouldn't keep my evening meals down for weeks. So I took the test, possibly too many times and it was positive.When it came to deciding, we had different opinions on the matter but we came to the conclusion it was too late in the pregnancy for a termination. I wouldn't have been able to live with myself if I had terminated so late.

During pregnancy, I had morning (well evening) sickness for the first 12-13 weeks, when it finally eased and just turned into heart burn which was more manageable than being sick everyday! I had to buy a pregnancy pillow further down the line because I wasn't getting any sleep and then having 12-hour days at work (travel to work, busy work days, travel home). During the summer, swollen feet (having to resort to a bowl of cold water under my desk), not having any clothes that fit properly or clothes that did fit properly were very uncomfortable to wear in the heat happened.

After having a fairly manageable pregnancy, we find ourselves in September, BIRTH MONTH!! September was going to be a very busy month! My partner had broken his wrist and quit his job so his new job started within days, we were moving in together into our b.e.a.u.tiful cottage, and the final and biggest change of them all! The birth of our baby girl (yes, we found out).

Isla came a day early and labour wasn't as bad as I thought it was going to be! I had been so worked up about it all. I didn't have the luxury of antenatal classes due to them being fully booked for months so my wonderful midwife went through my options with labour and told me that it will hurt and it will be very painful and it was all true! However, when our baby was born, I suddenly forgot all the pain I had to endure to have her! It was the best feeling in the world and I didn't want to put her down! She was perfect!

Now three months in and she is still perfect, if not more so! However, everyone tells you how great being a mum is and how you will have this bundle of joy which your world will revolve around but what people don't tell you is that without antenatal classes you are in a boat all on your own! I didn't know anybody else with a baby and living virtually in the middle of nowhere, so I am completely isolated. Everyone I know and would turn to, is at work. I try and talk to my partner about it but he doesn't understand, he has lots of friends and adult interaction. I survive on grandparents and his parents as they have their own business, so are home a lot of the time. I drifted away from my friends, I'm only 19. They are either working full-time or are at uni. I don't really have any friends to turn to. I have tried going to baby groups and coffee shops to try and make friends but they are all so clicky and no one speaks. Being a mum is great and I will gladly tell anyone that but I will also say make sure you put yourself out there and talk to people about your feelings! I know too well bottling doesn't help!

I know by now any readers will be bored about hearing my problems but I just wanted to share this because being a teen mum can be lonely and I know that more than anyone and I wanted any other teen mums, first time mums, third time mums, anyone to know that you have been blessed with the best gift in the world. I am still trying to get out there and make friends so fingers crossed!! I know it will get better, so if anyone is lonely and would like to talk then I'm all ears!

children
Like

About the Creator

Rebecca Stubbs

I'm a new mum to a little girl. I live with my partner in a small village. Our little girl is the most perfect thing ever and we are so blessed to have had her.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.