Families logo

Bedtime Story

Love, honor, & respect while you sleep peacefully.

By Steve JacksonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Life is tough, but so are you. Pillow by Sistahood 21. Photo by Alien Eyez Photos

As a child, you appreciate a nice bedtime story. They are the beginning to all dreams and the gateway for a vivid imagination. For myself, growing up I listened and read many Dr. Suess book. My all-time favorite were Green Eggs and Ham, The Cat in the Hat, and Mr. Brown. The imagery that was illustrated in each of his books stood out to me. It opened my creative portal and inspired me to become a writer, which I still am until this day. They way Dr. Suess displayed and crafted his words were pure poetry. Each book drew me closer to my own poetry later in life which allowed me to express myself fluently.

Now as an author and writer, I look forward to creating stories for my children, as they progress through all ages. “Once Upon A Time”, my first novel I publicly released the same year my daughter was born. I currently have a few children’s books in the works that young children would enjoy. Some topics I enjoy expressing and writing about are; truth, respect, honor, passion, happiness, love (self love), and hope.

A special book many children would adore is a book titled, “10 Things Good People Do”. I am finishing up the final touches of the book and close to the editing process. This book was created to inspire young individuals to act kind and live with positivity.

“10 Things Good People Do”

1) Good people respect themselves as well as others. Respect shows that you accept someone for who they are and who they are becoming. This includes them as a person, their qualities, values, traits, appearance, dialogue, abilities/disabilities, achievements, feelings/emotions, wishes, and their needs/wants. You can show respect by expressing positive feelings and actions, caring for that person and/or yourself, being considerate, listening with your full attention, being kind, being polite, serving for them and being grateful.

2) Good people help people, especially those in need. Do it out of the kindness of your heart, without expecting anything in return. Give a few dollars or coins to those less fortunate. Help an elderly person with their groceries and/or much needed tasks that they may struggle with, such as walking, tying their shoes, or even lifting someone up from a low point.

3) Good people speak positively and say nice things to others. This could be in the form of a compliant, nice hand-written letter or note, reading something encouraging, or simply saying thank you.

4) Good people love themselves and others. I like to start my day chanting, “I love myself, I love myself”, a few times in the mirror. “I love myself”, is an affirmation I like to use daily in my life. There are plenty others you may use in replace of “I love myself”, which I hope you do. Other affirmations you can use are, “I value myself dearly. I am kind to myself. I respect myself. I am powerful beyond measure. Love is a vital part of life that every human being needs in some type of capacity.

5) Good people live and act in their passion. Passion is having a strong feeling or excitement for something that you truly desire. What makes you enthusiastic? It is what makes you happy inside & out and you enjoy doing whatever your passion may be.

6) Speaking of happiness, good people are happy and find their happiness. They find what makes them happy and surround themselves with it. This could be surrounding yourself in your passion, surrounding yourself around other good people, surrounding yourself with things that make you smile, and thinking positive; happy thoughts.

These are just a few I have in mind for the book. Falling asleep feeling good and as a good person, will help you to dream your desired dreams. This not only goes for children, but for adults. I recommend all adults read to their children, especially before bedtime. You are what you constantly think about. Give your child/children positive thin gs to think about; expressing love, happiness, honor and respect. Give them a goodnight hug and kiss as well. Tell them that you love them. Sweet dreams!

list
Like

About the Creator

Steve Jackson

Photographer/Writer

SDJBooks.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.