Families logo

Baby Sister

My mom had a baby when I was in my teen years

By AMANDA BPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Baby Sister
Photo by Александр Раскольников on Unsplash

My mom had a baby when I was in my teen years

When I was 14 yrs old, my mom had a baby. I was so excited because I love babies. I always knew it was going to be a girl too. Something in my gut told me I would have a baby sister. I used to go with my mom to the doctor's appointments. Not one day came where I felt angry that another sibling was going to be part of the family. I always loved large families and the fact that my immediate one was growing, well that was something I was happy about. I counted down the days until I could look my sweet baby sister in the face and watch her grow. My other family members were very happy about a new baby also.

Finally the day came when she was born. So small and sweet. My baby sister was on this earth. When she'd been home a few days I began helping my mom with her. Waking at night to help make the bottle, bathing her, changing her diaper. And then when she started eating food from the baby jars, my mom would save me some so I could feed her when I got home from school. Strawberry was her favorite. I even used to try to finesse my mom to get her to allow me to stay home from school by saying "hey mom, need some help today? I can stay home from school and help out with baby? You can sleep and I can watch her and feed her and stuff." She always said no, I have to go to school, and that my sister would still be there when I got home. I just wanted to spend more time with her, as you know babies grow so much every day, and I just loved her so much already.

My mom and sister had been to my school a few times and people thought she was my my daughter because I was walking and holding her hand or carrying her. I wasn't embarrassed when they asked if she was my daughter, but it did make me laugh. Like, hello, you guys see me at school literally everyday. Have you seen my belly big enough to hold a baby? Anyways, people realised she wasn't mine at some point. When I was in the eleventh grade, I took a child devleopment and gerontology class. It was pretty interesting for me because I was learning things at home and applying them to school and vice versa. Being a teen as my sister was born taught me a lot. How difficult it really is to raise children, as well as how expensive. I tried my hardest to help my mom whenever I could, I still do. If I can be half the woman she is, I know I'll be an amazing mother in the future.

My sister is now eleven years old and she still calls me her second mom. I often find times of reminising when she was small and round, because now she's tall and lean. Something I never was, well actually I was never tall. She really is everything I'm not; she can dance, is very photogenic, she's an extrovert and lots more. It really is amazing to see how she's grown, and sometimes it even surprises me how worried I get about her safety in public as well as online. Not sure if thats an older sibling thing, or more of a maternal thing. Oh well, I know it'll always be there.

She drives me up the walls sometimes but I love her lots.

siblings
Like

About the Creator

AMANDA B

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.