Families logo

Baby Hair Journey: From Bald to Beautiful

By Helen Wright

By HealPointPublished 10 months ago 5 min read
Like

I always dreamed of having a baby with a full head of hair. I imagined how I would style their cute little curls or braids, and how I would take adorable photos of them with different accessories. But when my baby was born, I was in for a surprise. They had almost no hair at all!

At first, I thought it was normal. After all, some babies are born bald and some are born with hair. It doesn’t really matter, right? They’re still beautiful and precious. But as the months went by, I started to worry. Why wasn’t their hair growing? Was there something wrong with them? Did I do something wrong?

I decided to do some research and find out more about baby hair growth. I learned that there are many factors that affect how much hair a baby has at birth and how fast it grows afterward. Some of these factors are genetics, hormones, nutrition, and health. I also learned that it’s common for babies to lose their hair in the first six months of life, and then grow it back in a new cycle.

That made me feel a bit better, but I still wanted to help my baby get thicker and fuller hair naturally. So I tried some tips and tricks that I found online, such as:

Applying coconut oil to their scalp. Coconut oil is rich in vitamin E, which can improve blood circulation and prevent hair protein loss.

Brushing their scalp gently. Brushing can stimulate blood flow and encourage hair growth. I used a soft-bristled brush or a wide-toothed comb to avoid pulling or breaking their delicate hair strands.

Shampooing regularly. Keeping their scalp clean can prevent dirt, oil, and bacteria from clogging their hair follicles and slowing down their hair growth. I used a mild shampoo that was specially formulated for babies and washed their hair every two to three days.

Using a conditioner. A conditioner can moisturize and nourish their hair and make it softer and shinier. I looked for a natural conditioner that contained ingredients like aloe vera, shea butter, jojoba oil, or almond oil.

Using a soft towel. After washing their hair, I patted it dry with a soft towel instead of rubbing it vigorously. Rubbing can cause friction and damage their fragile hair cuticles.

Detangling gently. If they had curly or wavy hair, I detangled it after washing or brushing it. I used a wide-toothed comb or a detangling spray to gently remove any knots or snarls from their hair.

Trimming their hair. Trimming can remove split ends and damaged hair that can slow down the growth process. It can also make their hair look thicker and more even. I didn’t cut a lot of hair, just a quarter of an inch every two to three months.

Feeding them well. Nutrition plays a vital role in their hair growth. I made sure they got enough breast milk or formula in the first six months of life, as this provided all the essential nutrients for their development. As they started to eat solid foods, I introduced them to a variety of healthy foods that were rich in protein, iron, zinc, vitamin A, vitamin C, biotin, and other hair-friendly nutrients.

Trying gelatin. Gelatin is a type of protein that is derived from animal collagen. It can help strengthen their hair and nails and promote their growth. I added gelatin to their food or drinks by dissolving a teaspoon of unflavored gelatin powder in a cup of warm water or juice.

Using hair ties sparingly. If they had long hair, I sometimes tied it up in cute ponytails or braids. But I didn’t use hair ties too often or too tightly, as this could put stress on their hair and scalp and cause breakage and hair loss.

I also tried something else that I heard about from a friend: red light therapy.

Red light therapy is a type of treatment that uses low-level laser or LED light to stimulate cellular activity and blood circulation in the scalp. This can increase the supply of oxygen and nutrients to the hair follicles and promote their growth.

Red light therapy is FDA-approved for treating hair loss in adults and has been proven by multiple studies to be effective, safe, and painless. It can also improve the quality and thickness of the existing hair and prevent further hair loss.

To use red light therapy for my baby’s hair growth, I bought a device that emitted red light at a wavelength of 660 to 850 nanometers (nm). It was a hat that they could wear comfortably on their head.

Before using red light therapy on my baby, I consulted my pediatrician for advice and guidance. They told me that red light therapy was safe for babies as long as I followed the instructions carefully and avoided overexposure or direct contact with the eyes.

They also told me to monitor my baby’s reaction and stop the treatment if I noticed any signs of discomfort or irritation.

To use red light therapy on my baby’s scalp, I followed these steps:

Washed and dried their hair before the treatment.

Put on protective eyewear for myself and my baby.

Turned on the device and placed it over their scalp.

Kept the device at a distance of about half an inch from their scalp.

Moved the device slowly across their scalp in a circular motion.

Treated each area of their scalp for about 10 to 15 seconds.

Repeated the treatment two to three times a week for about 10 to 20 minutes per session.

After a few weeks of using these tips and tricks, I started to notice a difference in my baby’s hair. It was growing faster and fuller, and it looked healthier and shinier. I was so happy and proud of my baby’s hair journey!

I hope this article has given you some useful information and ideas on how to boost your baby’s hair growth naturally. If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to share them below. I’d love to hear from you!

advicehow to
Like

About the Creator

HealPoint

Get ready for an explosion of transformative insights and skyrocket your well-being journey!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.