Families logo

B.O. Mom

Life in Your 30s

By Iliana PerezPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
B.O. Mom
Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

What is a BO mom, you may be wondering?

A BO mom is a Business Owner mom...(eye roll)

Let me tell you being a business owner with a new born is the hardest gig I have ever had in my life.

Growing up I thought about having a family and being a business owner but not once did I ever really put both concepts together.

Having kids was wayyy far down in my list of daily to-do list. If anything it was my last or probably non-existent item on the list.

It wasn’t until I was getting ready to sit down in my desk to start a new week on a Monday morning that I remembered my husband mention over the weekend on how my monthly friend seemed to be late or at least I hadn’t mentioned it’s soon arrival.

I opened one of my desk drawers where I kept a new pregnancy test that came in a bundle pack from a previous scare and took it with me and my over-filled bladder to the restroom before actually starting my work day.

I popped a squat, peed on the test, which was always negative so what could be different today, right? And I texted away with my best friend Sandra while I finished my restroom business. Not even thinking this time the results could be different.

I continued sitting on the toilet, because thats what people do when they are texting 1000 mph, looked from the corner of my eye to see a result came in on that digital pregnancy test. Let me tell you, a few months back, I had thought it was a waste of $10. But not this time! This time it was about to change my entire life. Ohhh boy and it sure did and the entire world and time came to a halt when I saw the word “PREGNANT” in all caps.

For a second a went back to texting ad it had no registered the word correctly until it did 2 seconds later and I went back to read the results again. OMMMMGGGGG. Wait whattt??? I’m pregnant!!!! Howww??? As if I didn’t already know the answer to that question lol. I did in fact know exactly how that happened and let me tell you it was fun times. Hahaha

Normally, my friends would have stopped everything, gone on Pinterest and looked for some cute and memorable way to make this great announcement. But not me. Oh no sir. NOT ME!!! I immediately Snapchat my 2 girlies ans my baby daddy!! Gosh I always hated the word baby daddy hahah now I was going to have one lol

So many mixed emotions and then a trip to Dollar General and another 10 pregnancy tests later and a week late I was definitely pregnant.

Fast forward a very difficult pregnancy, easy delivery, a beautiful and genius baby girl, no maternity leave because I was the business owner with only a part timer who was not licensed to actually help with my customers. We managed to close and sell off that business.

Rearrange our lives, move twice, start a new business. And now almost a year and half after delivering. We have grown so much as new parents, an amazing daughter who is a little character, and I am trying to go step by step and day by day in my new business.

It’s crazy how life unfolds with so many unexpected events that lead to the most satisfying life. Now what used to be non-existent in my to do list is my first priority day in and day out. Failure is not an option.

children
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.