Families logo

Auntie with a capital A

Aunt Vicki consistently remains in her LIGHT helping others find and SHINE their own like the earth angel she is.

By Kimberly PeacePublished 4 years ago 4 min read
3
Aunt Vicki worked her magic with this camera shy guy who loved posing for this special Christmas project years ago!

There is no shortage of women who inspire me that I could write about. My mother, who raised three children on her own earning success in her career and raising strong resilient children. My sister who fought all odds and woke up from a coma that should have killed her or my friend who gave up her favourite foods such as steak and eventually gravy because her empathy for all living things was bigger than satisfying her taste buds or her meat loving husband.

Other amazing women like my inspirational baby sister or intuitive strong niece. I could have wrote about myself; the warrior inside me that despite all the hardships and negative relationships experienced, I still wake up with a smile and enthusiasm for life filled with love and joy every single day!

This inspirational woman has a very special place in my heart and has inspired me to step into my greatness.

When I stop and reflect on the kinds of woman I aspire to be, my aunt Vicki appears in my minds eye. A beautiful love focused woman, fiery red hair and lipstick and the warmest hug I've ever had. Her angelic voice that whispers "God bless you," in your ear when she greets you or says goodbye. Aunt Vicki makes me feel like I've just been blessed and I appreciate her as the Earth Angel she is.

Aunt Vicki is a beautiful daughter, sister, wife, mother, aunt young grand mother, friend, boss and so much more. She taught me how to apply just the right amount of make up when I was younger but ensured I didn't need it.

To me she has the most gorgeous clothing and classy accessories I've ever seen but also the most down to earth energy I've had the pleasure of being in. She is beautiful inside and out. We aren't close in terms of talking often but we are family and always get an invite to celebrate holidays together. She is there if I need her and has proved to be accepting of me when others may have judged. She's easy to love, and make you feel like you are too!

Her love for beauty is apparent the moment you walk into her home, from the sparkling modern look of her home to the cheery peaceful feeling and smell of fresh cut roses. Every moment with this woman feels like a celebration (even if she is secretly ticked at my uncle). Every gathering feels like Sunday dinner with family that isn't actually related by blood, but by heart and soul.

Picture her wearing heels, not only to dance class with her husband and best friend but also exploring Alaska for the first time. She has the Midas diamond touch, not only because she runs the Midas her and her soul mate own but because she leaves a sparkle everywhere she goes.

Our visits to their shop are a family favourite event. We always leave knowing our vehicle is safe and our hearts are filled with love, attention and positive perspective.

Aunt Vicki makes every visit an adventure, showing our boys that magic exists everywhere by the sound of her voice, the questions she ask them or the treats she has to make that moment extra special.

Aunt Vicki, does it all. She is perfectly imperfect but what makes her so amazing to me is that you can be perfectly imperfect with her. She accepts you for who you are. She communicates her boundaries, holds you accountable and shines her love through her hugs and listening skills. The only one I have seen manipulate her with his cuteness is Tank, their fur baby who knows just how important his happiness is to his family.

Although she is the warm beautiful center of the family, her warmth pours over into her family and through them. Her beautiful daughters are helpful and hard working, loving and inspirational, always making you feel important and loved. When they ask you to text them when you get home and you forget, you can guarantee a follow up text to make sure you're safe.

Knowing how Aunt Vicki will respond, with love and understanding, makes it easier to open up to her. Knowing that she worked hard for what she wanted and earned her life through hard work and perseverance, gives me hope that because I have worked hard too, I can have the best of both worlds or whatever my heart desires. The women I look up to, my mom, sisters friends and Aunt Vicki are women that celebrate others.

Aunt Vicki is a woman I look up to but know considers me to be as equal to her soul as her own. I never feel talked down to or controlled, always feeling accepted and loved appreciating myself more than before I spent time with her.

I am thankful for the love, acceptance and blessings Aunt Vicki has shown my family and I. I am truly grateful for anyone who has been blessed to know her and has been touched by her light while she activates others. In honour of the blessings she has passed on to me, I will pass it on and shine bright for others, hoping they find love and acceptance in my company as I always do hers.

extended family
3

About the Creator

Kimberly Peace

Upon a time, there was a girl who loved.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.