Families logo

Apprentice Becomes the Master

The Cycle of Education

By Tgames LatimorePublished 3 years ago 9 min read
1
Apprentice Becomes the Master
Photo by Moses Vega on Unsplash

a tall man wearing an all-black suit standing over a dead body. The tall man was sobbing about the man who just died. The man was talking to the coroner. “This man is Sir Earl Williams who taught me about the real estate business and he was like a father to me. He also took care of me and my mother.” The coroner extended his hand for payment for the death certificate. Later that evening Edward and Sir Earl Williams' family was sitting in his mansion living room with the lawyer reading out his will. “ This is my last will for the distribution of my wealth at the time of my death. I want 200 million dollars to be given away to my foundation that gives poor and low-income families the tools to improve their way of living. I also want one billion dollars to be given to public schools across the country. Then I want to give my apprentice Edward twenty thousand dollars to take on an apprentice of his own. This should be enough to teach troubled youth the ways of business and to set them on a better path. Then the remaining amount of money shall be put into a trust managed by an advisor I chose in life, and my entire family should earn ten thousand dollars per month plus ten percent of profits at the end of the year. My apprentice also should have black notebooks with each containing letters on the covers. All of you live a life in peace, and remember me as a kind and giving man.” Three days later Edward was in his office looking over architect’s designs for a hotel to be opened on mars. When he looked down with baskets filled with notebooks, he pulled out the case to open the first notebook. Edward began to start reading the note attached to the notebook, then note read. “Three days after the reading of my will there my apprentice shall read the notebook and begin to start to look for an apprentice.” Then he turned to the first page and it started to tell the story of how Edward met his former master. It was a cold winter day in new hope city and I was walking down the street to get into my office. When I was about to enter the office this little boy ran into me with such force I lost my dead wife's left earring. I started to yell at the boy with anger, then as I was doing that he started to cry with a tear rolling down the side of his cheek. That when I knew I was wrong and tried to bring the boy happiness back while doing it brought back the joy that was sucked out of seeing my pregnant wife’s corpse burn at the morgue. Then asked him what his dream job was. “I want to be a real estate developer.” exclaimed the little boy. Then he heard footsteps entering the office; it was his secretary, the little boy’s mother. Ms.Laba, what is your son's name? “His name is Edward and should have been at Mrs. Lisa’s house. Sorry sir for the disturbance and I should take him to be babysat with Mrs.Lisa,” exclaimed Ms.Laba. “No the boy could stay here for he could learn a thing or two about what we do in the office,” exclaimed Sir Earl Williams. “Sir I have just paid Mrs.Lisa and she is still mad at paying the rent late.” “ Do not worry about that, I will reimburse you in your paycheck tomorrow. I want your son to stay with you for the weekend to help him learn the ways of a business for his future is bright. I am also giving you a raise for your years of faithful service.” Little Edward spent many weekends with Sir Edward learning how to run a real estate business, and then one weekend Sir Edward gave the teenaged Edward twenty thousand dollars to fix up an old house that is worth 500,000 if fixed up. That first project you completed successfully made

the happiest man in the world. Edward and Sir Earl were in the office discussing his next assignment. Then that was the last page within the notebook, and that was the end of the story contained within the first notebook. Edward was looking at his assistant Son who was right next to his mother looking at the house for sale on Propertyforsale.com. “Ms. Gia is alright if your son comes into my office so we can have a discussion.”

The Little boy named Tim walked into the office with a limp and struggled to sit down in the chair. “Why do you walk with a limp and breathe heavily.” “I had a screw placed into my hip and on the other side a partial hip replacement. I also suffer from asthma.” Said Tim. “ What did you want to do when you grew up?” “I want to be a Real estate developer.” Said Tim. “I can

teach you how to become a real estate developer and if your mother approves I can take you down to be my apprentice.” The Little boy leaped off the chair and ran to his mother with his limp. “Mommy could Mr. Edwards teach me about real estate and I could become his apprentice.” exclaimed the boy with tears of joy pouring down his cheek. His mother agreed to this proposition. Then it was time to close the office and lock up the place. Ms.Gia stopped Edward before he locked the door about his sudden interest in her and her son. You know about the wealthy real estate developer named Sir Earl Williams. Sir Earl Williams is the one who taught me about his business and became my father. Now I want to pay it forward and I was always interested in you and your son. Bring him over to my house every weekend and I was the mystery person who donated the money for your son's medications and surgery. That is why I raised your salary and got a better health insurance plan for all of my employees. exclaimed Edward. The following weekend, Tiny Tim was at Edwards' house learning many aspects of real estate by following Edward around. Then the ghosts of former masters appeared. All the ghosts said. “ Now the cycle counties with all of our wisdom passed down. Each of us had a story to tell our apprentices.” Three years have passed a month before Tim's Fourteenth birthday, and Edward took his young stepson on a ride to the house that he bought two years ago giving him the assignment to remodel the place and to sell for a profit. Then he pulled out the second Journal that was instructions and tips on how to increase a house resale value. There was a note on top of the notebook addressing Tim. You are the apprentices of my former apprentice who you will learn a great deal about real estate. My name is Sir Earl William and I have died Seven years and a month before your birthday, Tim. Now read every page of my journal there contains strategies for increasing the value of a residential property.NIne Months have passed, and he came with a real estate agent and assessor to see how much the house was worth. The assessor and Real estate agent checked every inch of the home and the property was worth $1.5 million at current market conditions. The house went up for sale that same day and three days later it sold for $2.5 million. Your cut of the profits is $350,000 and will be placed into a savings account for your next project. Edward takes his wife on vacation and tasked his stepson to watch over the house while he is in the BahamasTim invited his f.Tim invited his girlfriend over to the house, and they watched movies together in the theater room. Then when it was m they both started kissing and moved into Tim’s bedroom. They both started to take off each other's clothes and started saying how much they loved each other. Then in the morning, Tim woke up with his girlfriend right beside him. Tim Said, “ Wake up Sophia, and you look beautiful this morning.” They both went to the mall and he spent about ten thousand dollars on his girlfriend. The Following day he kissed his girlfriend and she went home. His mother and stepfather were coming home. Edward told his stepson that tomorrow is going to be a busy day for he has another project to complete. Tim and his stepfather went to an empty plot of land and there were contractors and Architects. Edward said “ Your project is you have to design a ten-unit apartment building with a budget of five million dollars. Here is the second notebook with all tips and tricks from my former master. Now my apprentices take flight into the world.” With that Edward left him with his project and advice. Tim sat down with his architects and designed a four-story building. Each apartment had total square footage of 1500, and only two floors will be where the apartments are located. The fourth floor will be an indoor and outdoor pool area. The first floor will have a 100 car garage and other rooms for community development as well as a laundry area. The architects designed his vision for his apartment building, and the contractor said “that the total cost of building the building would be $2.5 million without a contingency budget and could upwards to $4.5 million with plenty of money left in a contingency budget. Tim signed off on the plans and construction began. Within a half year time, it was time to start decorating the building to show future tenants. Since the entire time, this project began he never opened up the notebook. He opened up the notebook and started reading it for tips on how to complete the project. Three months have passed, now it’s time to open up the building. He started doing tours of the apartment building to prospective tenants, and as the days passed he selected his first forty tenants. His master is very pleased with what his apprentice has accomplished in two years. Edward was standing looking at the building his young stepson had built which was greater than my first construction. Edward said, “You are going to be great at the business and one day you will have an apprentice of your own.” The building was very successful and brought in one million dollars a month in revenue and $250,000 in pretax income a month. He was happy every week to get a twenty-five thousand dollar a week check, and his master was setting up his next project. He called Sophia and told her to pick out a car from the car dealership. She wants to buy an Imperial Motors Empress coup that costs $350,000 in total. His girlfriend was thrilled, and they also were planning a senior trip to a tropical place. One day his stepfather took him to a meeting for the development of a skyscraper. The Lattimore enterprise corporation invested $1.7 Billion into the project and his stepson contributed one percent of the total capital.Each of the senior real Developers assigned each of their apprentice’s aspects of the project. Tim was assigned the fourth tower and to design an interconnected transportation system Between the four towers. Five years later the skyscraper complex was completed. All the masters were congratulating their apprentices and their long-dead former masters were looking down at them with glee. Edward gave Tim the last notebook.This was a big payday for Tim and his new friends. Tim moved into his new mansion. Twenty years later the cycle counties.

extended family
1

About the Creator

Tgames Latimore

Hi, I am Tyleel Latimore a high school student.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.