Families logo

And Then There Was You

I Fell in Love With You in an Instant

By J. Delaney-HowePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
21
Photo by J. Delaney-Howe

Un-imaginable loss

of two girls before you,

took my joy away.

Returning to normal life

Seemed an impossible task,

So we took it day by day.

You were not expected,

A surprise change in plans.

Oh, how we wanted you so.

In your momma’s belly,

As you grew and grew,

We prayed and prayed, the outcome we did not know.

So much to do,

Getting ready for your arrival,

But still, I feared that day would not come

I didn’t get my hopes up-

The loss would have been too devastating.

I didn’t let myself love you yet, not even some.

But the days kept coming, hearing your heart beating.

Then we learned our family full of boys,

Would now include a girl.

Your momma prayed and prayed some more.

Before you even had a name,

To her, you were the world.

Then doctors said it was time for you to come,

A month early to be safe.

For me, still apprehensive and fear.

And then you were born,

Perfect and pink and crying healthy cries,

My eyes filled with tears.

They rushed you off to the warming light,

And I stared from across the room.

I came to you, put my hand on your belly and chest

You stopped crying

And my heart was overflowing,

It made me forget all the rest.

Years of missing joy-

And then there was you.

And I fell in love with you in an instant.

Thank you for reading my poem about love in an instant! If you would like to read more of my writing, click the link below. I appreciate all reads, hearts and subscribes!

https://vocal.media/authors/j-delaney-howe

children
21

About the Creator

J. Delaney-Howe

Bipolar poet. Father. Grandfather. Husband. Gay man. I write poetry, prose, some fiction and a good bit about family. Thank you for stopping by.

Queer Vocal Voices on Facebook.

Find me on Facebook.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Antoinette L Breyabout a year ago

    Very touching poem

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.