Families logo

An Open Letter to My Friends & Fam

Contingency Plan Alpha (With Redux)

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 6 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
4
My workstation.

I'm going to sincerely regret not getting the minimum 4 hrs of sleep, but as they say in Recon, "We train to standard; not to time!"

In Regards to My Progeny

19OCT2017 03:00

Dear Friends & Fam,

Heaven forbid that anything happens to me, I just ask that y'all look after my Seed. Make sure that she learns chess and how to read by four; how to shoot (rifles, pistols, and shotguns), about Immortal Technique's Revolutionary Vol. 2 and the rest of my favorite albums by 10 years old; about my book collection, especially Dr. Carter G. Woodson's The Mis-Education of The Negro, by the time she's 15; to travel and speak other languages fluently by the time she can legally drink; to not make Seeds, get hitched, nor get high before a quarter of a century on this garden called Earth; to be completely independent by the age of 36; to retire at 42; and to give back, financially as well as with time, way before the big 5-0. Also, protect her from the Podestas, and teach her how to smell a narc. Teach her about all religions and how to pack heat. Teach her how to listen intently and think critically. Teach her about everything that you wish someone had taught you at her age. Please teach her that death is not the end (no one ever really dies); and that there are much more worse fates than death. It's just a part of life. By the way, teach her about Anthony Kiedis's meaning of life, how to have a green thumb, and about Prince Ea's videos. Finally, teach her to keep a journal, how to meditate, and how to workout. I honestly think that she can handle it from there.

With nothing but love,

Darrius [Redacted]

P.S.- Teach her that tomorrow isn't promised; that violence isn't always the answer; that when puppy love ends, the world still spins; and to never stab anyone in the back.

P.P.S.- Teach her that there's no such thing as a free lunch; to never drink beer or wine before liquor; to avoid pork like the plague; and how to hunt.

P.P.P.S.- Let sleeping dogs lie; don't trust anyone who doesn't like dogs; remember where you come from; read a chapter of Proverbs every day, based on the calendar (Proverbs 1 on the 1st of the month); read Ecclesiastes once a year; etc.

P.P.P.P.S.- Make me a proud Grandpa someday.

Addendum

19OCT2017 19:00

Yes, I am supposed to be at work right now, but it would be an irreconcilable omission if I did not include the following facts: The previous letter was actually a rewrite, with a few edits, from a couple of months ago. It was previously posted to social media, as well as an archiving app, before being put to pen and paper as you see above. With that being said, I’d like to leave a slightly more current, if not exclusive note for the purpose of instructing y’all on how I’d like my daughter, along with any future children that I may have, to be raised in the event of my untimely demise. I hereby present Contingency Plan Alpha- Redux:

Dear Loved Ones,

I sincerely pray that this note finds you well. Chances are that if you’re reading this, then I am only with you in spirit. There is a part of me that remains, though, and it is absolutely imperative that y’all stay strong for her sake. That is not to say that a decent weeping cannot be extremely beneficial. However, to quote The Philosopher, “There is a time and place for everything under the sun.” Speaking of which, I think that it’d be best if she read Ecclesiastes quarterly as opposed to annually. Also, while you’re teaching her about all the religions, please be sure to make her aware of the most powerful and dangerous religion there ever was: Statism. Inform her about the truth regarding politics: There is no Left-Right paradigm; only tyranny and freedom. The two-party system has failed us tremendously to say the least. At best, it has been a barely bearable detriment. However, please do not take my word for it! I implore every last one of you to read Adam Kokesh’s free book Freedom. Certainly, no one will agree with every single concept therein; but if nothing else, it is a glaring reappraisal of the debacle of a system that we find ourselves in currently. It is simply odious to think that we have been systematically poisoned, starved, and raped. I’m painfully aware that this has become more of a political rant than anything, and to those of you who’d argue that politics are all but irrelevant, I’d dare say, “The irony is palpable;” for there’s hardly any aspect of life not impacted by the dreaded Hydra. At any rate, be free.

Darrius [ibid]

children
4

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.