Families logo

Always Take a Nap on the Bed

October 23, 2015

By AnessaPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

Hi Lil’ Sis,

When you called me on Friday, I was laying in bed with my feet on a pillow – higher than my head. I couldn’t believe it, but my leg was a lot thinner – wow! A pastor’s wife once told me that her doctor said to always take a nap on the bed. She did – and I think we should take time to do that.

Saturday

Slept later – mopped my kitchen, vacuumed the carpet, dusted. Then it was 12 but I ate breakfast at 8:30 so didn’t eat dinner yet, got out some soup for dinner. I don’t take everything out of the freezer, so I just grab what I have on top. Also some garlic bread. So I don’t want to start anything big – so I read some in my Bible commentary. We studied the genealogy of Jesus. It was so interesting. He had two prostitutes in His genealogy. Now I’m watching Bonanza.

Sunday

I was picked up by Irene Miller among four other people and we went to Hillside Church. Takes us about 45 minutes to get there. Got home about 12:30. Didn’t do anything the rest of the day.

Monday

Today is Bible study here. I made two apple pies. Luke and Jon came to set up my table. I sent the small pie home with them and two candy bars and some really hot nuts (peanuts, pretzels, etc.) I had bought them for the Bible Study group but decided they were just too hot. Jon loved them. Our Bible study wasn’t that great. Our pastor can never get to the point, its hard for her to explain things. But at least we try to study the Bible once a week – otherwise some of us wouldn’t. So after the study I washed the dishes and collapsed in the recliner.

Tuesday

Had to be at the leg doctor at 9 o’clock. He took off the wrapping and said it looked good. Scabs came off. But he said come back in two weeks. Had to pick up some pills at Shopko – looked around a little. So many things on sale – but I don’t need anything. What a disappointment.

Made dinner, got some hamburger out of the freezer I had made earlier. Then I actually didn’t do anything the rest of the day. I read in my book and took a nap.

Then I got the mail and your letter was there. I still think you are overwhelmed with company.

The leaves are really falling and I dread to think of winter. I hope I’m done going to doctors.

I have to change the bed tomorrow then do laundry.

I think I’m done taking clothes to Goodwill. I had my parka cleaned – looks like new. Makes me want to advertise it for an offer (cost $10 to clean it). Well I’m going to read the paper.

Wednesday

Doing laundry this morning. I usually have to have two washers and when I got there one lady had just put her laundry in one – so it’s going to take longer. I can just use one washer and one dryer. Well, I’ll take a book and read. When dry I have to put all the sheets on the bed again. I just brought two sets of sheets from home, if I keep washing, works out.

I am going to have chicken for dinner. Maggie got me some chicken from the Hutterites.

Do you remember Ma driving the car? I remember going to Geyerman’s once, you were along. I guess Mom was going to get a dress. She asked for Mrs. Geyerman – I was so embarrassed. I don’t know what happened after that.

I remember taking the carpet out of the living room and pounding the dust out on the line. I wonder how I could have lifted it and carry it out. Nobody stopped me either, saying it was too heavy.

Well, I’m too tired to write.

It’s after dinner now. I got tired running back and forth to the laundry room, because I only got one washer - someone else was using the other and I needed two, so as a result it took twice as long – wait to dry too. I fixed dinner in between, now I took a nap and going to get my paper. End of the afternoon I had a root beer too.

Thursday

I should bake some cookies, but have only one egg. I should call Maggie to see if someone is coming to town – for some eggs. I’m going to work on quilts today.

Afternoon. Well I’m going to finish this letter. Sewed all morning. Had some setbacks – ran out of bobbin thread and top thread. I had bought some extra spools quite a while ago. When my Bible Study friends were here one said the price of thread has tripled. Had leftovers for dinner – refrigerator is empty now. Always remember how your fridge is stacked full. Did you ever eat all those leftovers?

Love you and Admiral

Big Sis

siblings
Like

About the Creator

Anessa

A witness to God's grace.

Lover of words, nature, and healing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.