Families logo

Alice

A girl's best friend

By ChezaLunaPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Not my sweet girl, but what she looked like

It started just like any other typical day of junior high school. I woke up, ate breakfast, got dressed, and trudged out the door to make my way to the bus stop a couple of blocks away. Of course I was tired and lazy so instead of taking the long way around on the road I decided to cut through the neighbor's yards to cut my walk in half.

As soon as I cross the street I notice 2 stray female dogs, a yellow Lab and a black Lab, that have started to fight in an empty lot. Being who I am and having an obsession with animals, I run over to where the dogs are and start swinging my backpack in between them trying to break it up. The yellow dog, which I'm assuming started the fight, takes off running towards the woods while the black dog just stands there looking confused.

My route from home to the bus stop

Satisfied that there won't be any injured doggies, I continue to make my way towards the bus stop. Halfway through the first yard I realize that the black dog has started to follow me. I try to ignore it and finally make it to the bus stop where I take a seat under the metal tent. The black dog slowly approaches me and I can't help but reach out and pet her. She is very friendly.

When the bus arrives, I am last to get on. The black dog tries to get on right behind me so I turn and tell her she has to go somewhere else because I have to go to school. She sits down in the bus stop driveway and watches as the bus drives off. Throughout the day, I keep thinking about the sweet black dog that I seem to have saved that morning and hope that she is okay.

The day has dragged on and I am finally almost home on the school bus. The bus stops in my neighborhood and I drag my heavy feet down the steps onto the driveway. As I turn to make my way through the yards back towards my house, the black dog from this morning comes running out from under the metal tent towards me, wagging her tail. I pet her in greeting and tell her I have to go home. She proceeds to follow me home and sits outside in my yard for the entire night.

As I recall my day to my mom and uncle, I tell them about my encounters with the black dog that morning and in the afternoon. Of course, I get told that I can not have a dog. It makes me sad, but I have gotten used to it.

The next morning the black dog follows me to the bus stop again and is waiting for me once again that afternoon when I get home from school. This continues for the next few days, until finally my uncle tells me that since the dog is following me anyways I may as well give her some food outside and give her a name. The Twilight series was popular around this time, and the dog had beautiful yellow eyes, so I chose to name her Alice (who was also my uncle's favorite character from the series). She seemed to like the name well enough.

My uncle got a collar for her and I was told she could stay outside only, which lasted about a week, until one night it was colder than usual and my uncle allowed her to come inside, but said she had to stay right inside the door on the small slab of wood that wasn't carpeted. A couple of nights later, my uncle had started allowing her to come sit by his recliner in the middle of the living room. Then she had a food and water bowl in the kitchen, because it wasn't carpeted there. Next thing I knew, she was allowed all over the house and occasionally slept in bed with me.

Alice was my best friend. She often walked me to the bus stop for school and greeted me when I got home. But my favorite memory has to be how persistent she was to be around me and make my home her own. She was the first dog I had since early childhood that I could remember and will be with me for the rest of my life.

children
Like

About the Creator

ChezaLuna

I’m just a wife and mom of 2 trying to make it in life. I write in hopes of making sense of the chaos in my mind. Feedback is always welcome! Please like, subscribe, tip, share, pledge or however this site works🤗 thank you for your time!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Daemion Synclaire2 years ago

    Good

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.