Families logo

Accessible Wildlife

Wildlife adventures from the comfort of your car

By Krystal RoarkPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Recently, my family had the opportunity to go on vacation with my best friend’s family. Four adults piled into a van with two children (who also happen to be best friends) and hit the road. We spent a day at a water park, and then headed to a Wildlife Ranch the next day.

I grew up in the county, surrounded by wildlife of all kinds. When I met my now husband, he was a city boy. He had never been camping, fishing, or even hiking outside of a city park. Our first home was in the city, but I grew restless and missed living in the country. I finally talked him into moving and we set off and bought a house in the middle of a corn field 2 years before our son was born.

That tiny little tornado has access to wildlife on a daily basis, his best friend though, is growing up in the city, much as my husband did. Animals such as cows, deer, and raccoons, are all exotic wildlife to him. While my son feeds the raccoons and opossums that come to our back door at night. So, a family vacation to a water park and wildlife ranch seemed fitting for both boys.

We decided to take a trip to Wilstem Ranch in Paoli, Indiana. If you ever get the chance to go, I recommend it. They have a wildlife drive through that is so much fun, even for adults! Ever handfed a Kangaroo? Here you can do that. We purchased tickets to go on the Drive-Thru Safari. We could sit in our airconditioned van and hand feed animals (or as we learned roll up the windows if one of the boys gets a little uneasy with the size of the animals). It was perfect.

The ride was full of giggles from all ages (7-50+). My husband showed his great excitement to feed a "Thunder Chicken," as he called it. In reality, it was an Emu. Though, the rest of the drive we all referred to it as a Thunder Chicken, and to be honest, I may forever call it a Thunder Chicken now.

I am now the proud owner of an amazing video clip of my best friend being sneezed on by a large steer with his head in the window. I’m unsure as to who was more surprised, my friend who jumped and let out a little scream, or the poor steer she scared to death.

There were stops before and after the Drive through where you could get out of the vehicle and see other animals as well. My son loved feeding the giraffe carrots. I was partial to the Kangaroos and Wallabies. They weren't nearly as cute when I lived in Australia and they were digging into our trash, so I enjoy seeing them now.

As I was loving on one of the Kangaroos, I told my family and my friend's family about the zoos I visited while living in Australia. There they had deer and raccoons in the zoo. I found it amusing and was amazed at how just driving down the road you might have to stop for 'Roos! Our small boys were enamored with my stories of The Land Down Under.

After our time in the Kangaroo pen was ending, we were led back into the barn. Inside were other close encounter animals. We were even able to handfeed parakeets inside of a giant cage. It was such a wonderful and magical experience for all of us.

During our mini vacation I was able to capture giggles and wonder on camera. Close-ups of the familiar and exotic. We loved every second of it from the comfort of our car.

travel
1

About the Creator

Krystal Roark

Just a nerdy chemist who loves to write, take photos, and do graphic design. I am a mother to three children. Two in my heart and one in my arms.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.