Families logo

Abby’s Equipment + Adaptive Tools 🙌🏻

some of the things AmazingAbigailGraces uses in her daily life with Cerebral Palsy

By EMandKids | AmazingAbigailGracePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
7

Some of our most frequent questions are about the equipment and the tools that we implement for Abby to be independent. Here is the list of some of our absolute favorites.

🦽Wheelchair: Permobil TiLite Pilot

We got Abby's wheelchair through her insurance a couple of years ago. We went through NuMotion and her physical therapist to find the perfect fit for her! If I had any advice on this process, it would be to ADVOCATE for every single thing that you want because you can only have a wheelchair covered by insurance once every 5+ years. If I could go back, I would have changed a few things about her chair before we received it. This was a big thing to learn on!

🩼 Crutches: Walk Easy Y Forearm Crutches Full Cuff

Abby started out using Inspired by Drive crutches but we recently switched to Walk Easy and have been loving them! Their website allows you to order your pieces straight from them online as well. They have a lovely color selection, which Abby was thrilled about. Also, they provide plenty of accessories/replacement part options.

🛏 Bedding: Beddy's Bed-Ease Zipper Bedding (EM&KIDS for 15% OFF)

Our biggest goal for Abby has always been independence. @beddys zipper bedding has made such a huge impact in Abby's daily life. It has allowed her to be independent when making and unmaking her bed in the morning and at night all by herself!!

🍓 KITCHEN ITEMS: Over The Sink Colander

We are really intentional about having miscellaneous items around our home that make daily tasks accessible for Abby to complete on her own, without having to ask for help. This colander actually comes into use on a daily basis when she wants to use the sink to wash her own fruit for a snack! The one we are using is from IKEA but I did not see it online anymore so I liked one from Amazon as well.

ADDITIONAL ITEMS:

🚿 BATHING ASSIST: Removable Shower Head

🍴KITCHEN ITEMS: Adaptive Cutting Tool

💓 PHYSICAL THERAPY: Peanut Ball for Core Strength + Balance

💫 PHYSICAL THERAPY: Balance Board

🌈 ADAPTIVE ITEM: Charm Wrist Lanyard - These allow Abby to carry things while still using her crutches!

🤏🏻 FINE MOTOR SORTING: Tweezer/Fine Motor Sorting

💘 FINE MOTOR: Barbies + Accessories

🚲 OUTDOOR ACTIVITIES: Bike Trailer

children
7

About the Creator

EMandKids | AmazingAbigailGrace

content creator + proudest mom to 3 sweet little humans, including THE Amazing Abigail Grace

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Ray Norman2 years ago

    Hey Abbi, I'm so happy that I found your Vocal page too. I want you to know, to me, you are the strongest young lady I know. My best friend has CP and he is now 56 and a father and now a grandpa of 4 beautiful grandchildren, who are always playing with my 5 granddaughters. Kenny and I have been best friends since elementary and I have never had a better friend. I am always inspired by him because even through his obstacles he has held down a full time job at the same place since we left high school and He has excelled at it. He is now the GM of this company and Kenny is my boss. He is my best friend, brother, inspiration, and most of all, he is one proud gampa(what his grandchildren call him). So no matter what life throws your way or what others think or believe, remember you and only you can set your limitations, because you don't have a disability you have a able-bility, as Kenny told me one time, just because I sometimes stumble and yes even fall, my disability doesn't define who I am, my disability gives me the strength to show my children and grandchildren that a disability isn't an obstacle you can't overcome. Love you Abigail Grace. Hero, Inspiration and a Champion we all can learn from.❤❤❤❤❤❤❤

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.