Families logo

A two way connection?

Moulda's mirror

By Neil MarathePublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. It showed something aberrant. Instead of me, there was a young girl-at least I think it was a young girl. She looked like me in some ways. She had long-ish hair and green eyes. Except there was one major difference. Her skin was peach, not green like everyone else on this planet. I peered back into the mirror and suddenly it seems she saw something in her surroundings.Suddenly she dropped her mirror. That's what I think anyway because I could no longer see her.

I was still holding mine. Then I was about to get my parents to help me understand what had happened, when the mirror changed. This image of this strange world dissolved into my room. Suddenly I was in my room again, a confused and scarred little girl, all due to that mirror.

I told my parents about it at dinnertime. They looked at each other and laughed. They said it was just a child's imagination gone awry. I insisted that it was not. What I had seen was real. That night when I went to bed, I didn't sleep. I kept thinking about that strange girl from the mirror.

The next day my parents realized that I hadn't slept and gave me a day off school. They decided to peek in the mirror in front of me. They just saw their own reflections and told me "See, nothing to worry about". Very cautiously I also peeked, expecting me find that peach skinned girl again, but she was nowhere to be found. Just me in my room. But that didn't help. I did sleep after that but got nightmares. I wanted to tell people at school, but they wouldn't believe me. After all my parents didn't.

Only my brother believed me. He was braver than me and decided to look at the mirror for me. He kept it in his room for many weeks, and took turns looking at it every couple of hours. Eventually he got bored and gave it back to me.

"It's just a stupid mirror, I only see you and me and other green skinned people. What a waste of my time!" He shouted in exasperation as he dropped it and went off to play.

Dejected, I picked it up and finally picked up the courage to look at it myself. I just saw myself, no peach skinned girl as I had come to call her in my head.

Soon, I forgot about the mirror and slowly returned to normality. Then one day a few months later, I was playing in my room when suddenly I saw her again. Peach skinned girl. I was walking over to my toy box when I saw the mirror. This time she didn't seem to see me.

But I could see her world. It was just like her. Aberrant .She sat upon a chair similar to mine but next to her was a big box. It was a strange box and she was hitting another box on her table. I saw other strange things from inside the mirror. There was a strange set of objects near her. They looked like shapes .Yes, funny shapes. But most strange of all was the opening in her dwelling. There it looked like another world! A world inside a world perhaps? There was a very bright ...something coming from the opening. It shone like a lamp but much brighter.

Just as I was looking around this new world, Peach skinned girl moved. I froze. She came up to mirror and then she saw me. I saw her mouth open in what might only have been a scream. I saw her teeth. They were white, not black like mine. For the first time I fully got a proper look at her. She must have been around 4 ft tall, shorter than me. Her hair was yellow and her skin was peach. It had some dots and scratches on it.

Before I could go get anyone, the mirror dissolved. I had to tell someone. I told my parents. They looked at me in pity.

"This obsession has gone on too far, young lady. We are taking you to a child psychologist" they side in unison.

I cried. I didn't want to tell people at school, because I didn't want to be bullied.

The next week, my parents took me to a strange man's office. He had lots of books on the brain in his office. It even smelled funny

The funny thing is that I don't remember what happened afterwards at all.I came back home and couldn't find the mirror. I thought that was the end of my nightmares. But they just changed.

These new nightmares seems like they had really happened, because I only saw other bogeymen, like myself.

Instead of peach skinned girl I remember being asked questions about her for a few minutes then being told to wait outside.While outside I remember two sentences between the psychologist as he appeared to be talking to himself. The first was just as odd as the girl in the mirror.

"We may finally have found a way to communicate with the out worlds"

The next one. was more personal.

"Remember to wipe the memories of the witness"

children
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.