Families logo

A New Chapter; A New Father; A New Business Model.

A major change in Business Practices and goals.

By A single FatherPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
A Corporation finally finds it's Place.

Hello Vocalizers;

"Today I choose life. Every morning when I wake up I can choose joy, happiness, negativity, pain... To feel the freedom that comes from being able to continue to make mistakes and choices - today I choose to feel life, not to deny my humanity but embrace it.

- Kevyn Aucoin"

This quote always resonated with me; to choose. Something I always fought for, the one thing I knew people respected of me, that people EXPECTED of me.

I had a friend once tell me when we were just starting high school, "If we were in a movie or a game, You know; You'd probably be the Hero". It was weird, I didn't understand it, at first. But as I thought about it, and focused on how people treated me, it became clear; They respected me, even when we were young; because of my ability to not care. When I say "Not care", I don't mean that I was indifferent, or that I was careless; but because I did what I did, and felt what I felt, and I said it aloud. I fought for my rights, and my feelings, and I never let people tell me how to think and they looked up to me for it. Once I realized this, I took it upon myself to live up to the expectations placed upon me. (More on this in another story)

So when I started my Corporation; JTM United Corporation, My goal was to connect Local Businesses and Local Employees to each other and strengthen Human Ties but I had no way of doing this, and no directed goals, but I knew that I had to live up to those "Expectations" again. I created about half a dozen DBA's and worked with multiple local entrepreneurs. With varying but profitable success, however, with no true goals.

After my daughter's birth, I was worried the off and on work would affect my ability to regularly and consistently give my newborn daughter what she needed. So I went to work at a Car Manufacturing Plant about an hour away (It was the highest paying job I could find), and I stopped working on my Corporation for almost a full year. While going through a tough transition (More on that in another story), my plans for the corporation shifted, I combined all my business-related businesses like Accounting, Business consulting, and website development into one business "JM Business Development Group". Closed a couple of stragglers and opened a Not-For-Profit, "JTM United Recycling Centre". I believe i have found a perfect fit, Technology, Engineering, Recycling, Inventory and Accounting for the numbers and systematic filing. Everything that I came to enjoy. Numbers, Logistics, Using tools and engineering, and recycling. E-Waste is a major issue and finally deciding to use my skills to something powerful; cleaning the earth in a meaningful way.

This is how I will move forward, taking on the E-Waste and helping create a brighter future in the local environment my daughter will grow up in. This way, despite y fight with her mother for custody. If I lose the chance to parent her, at least I can still fight for a better life for her.

I'm not certain how to proceed, but I will begin by putting all my efforts into my Daughters development, JTM United Recycling Centre, and further Eduction in the Business world. So far things are well so far, I've enrolled again in school, I have a chance for some part-time work and me and Violet are loving our time together and I cant wait to see what I can do with all of this, perhaps I will get lucky and soon Violet will join me in!

Thanks Vocalizers; I just needed to rant

children
Like

About the Creator

A single Father

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.