Families logo

A Mother's Legacy

A letter to the incredible mother-in-law that I will never meet on earth

By Erica MachenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

To My Mother-In-Law in Heaven,

Yes, we have been introduced. We have been introduced through your son’s stories and daily reflections of your memory. I can not tell you what I would give to have the honor of meeting you face to face, just to thank you. I wish I could thank you for raising the man of my dreams. I am notoriously not a hugger, but I would hug you. I find it so funny how I’ve never known someone I have never met as well as I feel I know you. Your artistry, your eloquence, your free spirit, and your no-nonsense way of getting your opinion across all tell me how much I would have adored you. Everything I hear, I can see vividly, and it is all on my same quirky wavelength. With each memory, story, or photo shared with me, I wipe a little fog from the mirror.

I’ve heard stories of love, of strength, of humor, and failures. That last one, it doesn’t make me appreciate you less. Your failures make me appreciate you more. More that in your fallible humanity, your virtue was there. You grew. You prospered. You prospered in love for those who mattered most. This is yet another of the abundant reasons why your son is the man he is.

I wish you could see how far he has come. When he lost you, he lost a piece of himself. He had to wander for a moment in life. He seemingly lost his sense of direction when he lost you, but the man who stands before me today knows where he is going, how he is getting there, and who his companions are. Your son is not only an incredible father to your three precious grand babies, but he is the best bonus father our other two kiddos ever could hope for. His even temper, patience, and unending love are exposed with each word he speaks to any one of our children. Little does he know that the wisdom you imparted on him, that he speaks to our children, guides me too. Your son speaks to who he is, helps those in need, stays positive, and protects what he cherishes the most. You created that within him.

If only I could tell you what a man you molded in him. Your son is loving, loyal, intelligent, quick witted, and incredibly talented. I honestly believe he gets most, if not all, of that from having you as a mother. Your son never leaves space for doubt with his love. His children, no, our children, my sweet pawpaw (who he cares for each day), and myself never have to wonder if he does or does not love us. He has an unwavering strength and confidence that is a marvel to be seen and worthy to be admired.

To all three of your children, you hung the moon. There is no way I will ever achieve the level of maternal heroism you have for him, and that’s perfectly ok. You are his angel. You are the reason he is passionate. You are his driving force. For that, I thank you. I can only hope and pray that my children one day hold me with the same regard your children do. One thing I can say is this… They say a man finds his soulmate within a woman who reminds him of his mother. If that is the case, then I am beyond flattered. I can only hope that as I am able to wipe the fog off this mirror one memory at a time that I can see a little bit of myself in your reflection. Thank you. Thank you for setting the bar so high. Thank you for somehow securing a place in my heart even though we are yet to meet.

Lovingly,

Your Daughter-In-Law

extended family
1

About the Creator

Erica Machen

From being a lonely only child, through silent adversity, and coming through to the side of self-realization, I am now a wife and mother of five looking to paint a portrait of life through the art of words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.