Families logo

A Letter to Myself for Someone Else

Remembering who you are

By TheLateBloom Published 3 years ago 4 min read
9

To the girl who is always smiling, determined to show the world positivity even when she forgets to save some for herself. To the girl who ignites the spark in eyes that were convinced they would never be seen, who finds genuine joy in discovering other people's happiness. To the one whose heart breaks when she overhears someone being rude to their cashier, who was once on the other side of that transaction and could transform the frowns that were brought to her into belly laughs that healed both of us, even if just for a second. This is for the girl who tries so hard to love the world, despite the amount of time it has denied her of the love that she deserves. To the one who will never surrender her soul because she is certain it was made to heal the pain created on this planet, even through the moments she cannot find the energy to heal herself. You my dear, are the strongest woman I know.

I have had the privilege of watching you grow from uncertain ground, that may have wilted your roots, but could never tarnish your spirit. Even when you weren’t given the recognition of your light, you found a way to lead others through their darkest moments, all while praying to the moon in hopes that the sun could rise sooner to show you the way home. The only home you were familiar with was filled with conflict, hatred, pettiness, and judgments that were never meant for you to understand. You were the flower that decided to bloom in the darkest of places, and even though your beauty could not be seen, still you chose to blossom. Like the pedicel that sprouts between the cracks of a sidewalk, it may have a higher risk of being destroyed, but it knows the artistry of its pedals are worth the risk. The rarest beauty is often found in unsuspecting environments, the places it was told not to exist. More often than not, those are the places that need it the most. This is the best way I can describe your story. You didn’t know it then, but you were always right where you were supposed to be. You were a gift to others before you could experience the true glory of who you are. You were brought to your knees and kept there, not to be forever praying for a life you couldn’t have, but so you would be destined to ascend. Even while being blind to who you were, you always knew there was more for you. You knew love was out there somewhere, and with your head in the clouds, you dreamt of how the sun would feel when it finally got the chance to kiss your face.

When you reached the light of day, you found the courage to dig up the parts of yourself that you wish could’ve stayed buried, just so you could show others the sacred beauty of a second bloom. Again and again, you find the strength to rebuild because the foundation you were born into was never enough to nourish your power. With each tear that was shed, you watered the soil of my soul that I am still using to enhance my growth today. You are the reason I became the woman you always knew I could be. Knowing how much you went through is what gives me the strength to continue, it is the reason I can survive anything life has to throw at me. The wisdom you spread, while you were wise beyond your years, are the words I continue to live by. In the moments I find myself taking the small things for granted, I remind myself of the girl who used to pray for those things. The girl who gave unconditional love before anyone showed her what that was, before anyone was there to tell her that she deserves what she so effortlessly gave to everyone but herself. In the moments the world brings me back to my knees, I am reminded that I have all the love I will ever need because of the girl who was brave enough to continue. She is the reason I am able to love myself now, because no one could love her then. She showed me everyday what kind of love I should be waiting for and all I had to do was notice. I am not the strongest woman I know; it is the girl that lives in the memories of my past. She has the kind of strength I am still working towards today and I am eternally grateful, for her and all that we’ve been through. I vow to make her proud and, to anyone that can relate, I recommend taking a moment to thank her for getting you to where you are today.

literature
9

About the Creator

TheLateBloom

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • caldwell benisabout a year ago

    Great writing

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.