Families logo

A Letter To My Children

We can do better.

By Amber Alisa Published 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
A Letter To My Children
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

With all the chaos going on in the world today I had a very strong calling to write this letter for my children to read in the future. I want my children, who happened to be born in 2020 during the COVID pandemic, to understand the world in which they were born into. This year is very significant in many ways and I want them to know that I am doing everything that I can to make it better. This letter is my personal thoughts and opinions that happen to mean a lot to me. Once you read it please be respectful and kind. Thank you!

To my beautiful children,

Whenever I dreamed of bringing you into this world I never thought that it would be like this. Never in my life would I had imagined bringing innocent babies into a world of pure unjust and hatred that runs rampant in the streets and through the blood of people everywhere. I never imagined raising you in a world where people are so divided and cruel to one another. I never imagined bringing you into a world full of a virus that made us isolate you from our family and friends, mandate that a mask must be wore to protect each other when we go out in public, a pandemic that kept our families away from the hospital during your births, and that has made people so hateful and evil, that I don’t even want to take us out of the house anymore. I never imagined a world where I would have to put my views and comfort aside just so I could learn the correct rules and regulations on how to properly shoot a gun so that I can make sure that our family can be protected and safe. I'm sorry that you have to see innocent people throughout the whole country shot down in the street just due to the color of their skin, especially by people who are supposed to uphold the law, not take advantage of it. It’s not right and it never will be. With this being said, my dear children, the next couple of days are going to change the world in a very drastic way. I am truly afraid of the America we are about to enter, and I can only hope and pray that one day your sweet little hearts and smiles will see peace. As a mother, I can only wish for a world full of love, laughter, and light for you. A world full of people that can learn to respect one another as human beings no matter of their race, identity, or who they love. One where people can put aside their differences and focus on the greater good for all of mankind no matter where on this earth they come from. Maybe one day my dears you and others will be the catalyst that can bring the peace and love into this world that it so desperately needs. But until then rest assured that I am doing everything in my power to make it better, to make it safe, and to make it home. I can assure you that your father and I will keep you safe and protected throughout everything that is about to happen. I also promise to teach you to love your neighbor, how to show kindness, and how to take care of this planet along with everything that is on it. I promise that I will not let you down because your pure innocent little hearts don’t deserve a world like this. I love you so very much and we can and we will do better.

Forever and always,

Mom

children
Like

About the Creator

Amber Alisa

Amber Alisa

Poet and Blogger 📚

Mom of three 💙💙💙

Loves spirituality and good vibes ✌️

Tarot, Oracle, and Pendulum Reader 🔮

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • julia dooleyabout a year ago

    this is so good, gave me chills!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.