Families logo

A Different Tale Of Corduroy Bear

That poor little guy!

By Stephanie DownardPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3
Our book and bear.

Growing up, I don't remember all the stories I listened to, but the one I remember most is Corduroy. The cute little bear in the corduroy overalls, only my mom, told a different tale of the Corduroy Bear. Now my mom was known for telling my siblings and me stories she made up. She did her best to get our attention any way she could to get us to listen.

I'm guessing we didn't seem interested in the original story, so she switched it up to our liking. It could also be for the simple fact we needed an extra boost to get us to use the potty. I'm a little embarrassed to admit, but for the longest time, I honestly thought this poor little bear sat on the store shelf because he peed his pants. It wasn't until I had kids of my own I found out the truth.

I was so confused when I began reading this book to my kids. I learned he did not pee his pants. He was just a bear with a missing button who waited for someone to want him. I, of course, called my mom for answers thinking maybe I've gotten the wrong book. Only to learn she changed the story because, as I said, we weren't interested in a bear missing a button but only a bear who peed his pants. To the best of my knowledge the made up story It goes like this.

Corduroy is a bear in a toy department. He waited for a long time for someone to buy him. The only problem was nobody wanted him because he peed his pants.

He waited day after day, but people passed him by every time as soon as they noticed he had pee pants.

Until one day a little girl ran up to him. “Oh, mommy, can I please get this bear?” “Absolutely not, dear. Can't you see he pees his pants?

The little girl and her mom walked away. Corduroy was sad and still didn't understand why nobody wanted him.

He stood there wondering what he could do to go home with a family.

Corduroy decided to climb down and explore the store to find answers to his problem.

He started to walk around, only to notice he accidentally peed his pants again. He looked down a seen he had peed all over the floor.

He knew he couldn't stay there, so he started to climb up the stairs next to him.

To his surprise, the stairs moved on their own, and he rode them up to the top.

He ended up in a room filled with furniture. Corduroy thought he finally found a new home to live in.

He crawled up in a bed to take a nap from his long adventure.

Corduroy woke up in a panic after he realized he had peed the bed. He was trying his best to clean up his mess.

He lost his balance and fell from the bed.

On the way down, Corduroy knocked over a lamp, causing a loud noise.

The security guard heard the noise and went to investigate.

When he reached the top of the stairs, he saw that something had knocked over a lamp and peed in the bed.

The guard looked all over only to see two fluffy ears sticking out of the blanket on the bed.

He found Corduroy hiding under the blanket. “So you're the one making all the noise and who peed the bed.”

He picked Corduroy up and took him back downstairs. On the way down, he tried to explain to Corduroy that no one will ever buy him if he keeps peeing his pants.

The security guard put Corduroy back on his shelf. He sat there and finally realized if he ever wanted a real home, he would need to start using the potty.

The next day the same girl who wanted to buy him came back to the store.

She told the lady at the counter she wanted to buy Corduroy. The lady tried to explain he pees his pants, but she still wanted him anyway.

The little girl bought Corduroy and left the store with her new bear.

As she walked up her stairs to their new home, the little girl told Corduroy she would help him learn to use the potty.

They went inside, and she took him to his new room. Corduroy was so happy to have a home and a family of his own.

The little girl got Corduroy all cleaned up, and he no longer had pee pants.

She hugged him, and Corduroy was so excited he decided he would never pee his pants again.

So that's a different tale of Corduroy Bear. To this day I still read it to my kids this way. Sometimes I make it a little funnier for the kiddos to get more laughs. I do on occasion read the real version just so in the future they don't get confused like I did.

children
3

About the Creator

Stephanie Downard

I'm a mom of 3 plus a bonus son. I've discovered I love writing, and in my free time, that's what I do! I may not be the best, but that will not stop me! It can only go up from here! I hope you enjoy the words that trickle out of my head.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.