Families logo

A day worth remembering

Birthday surprise

By Crystal Dawn LesherPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Bowling!

It was a very glorious day. I was turning 18 today. All my life I had heard about how hard it was for my mother to take care of me since my father died. Some days I thought she resented him because he did die and left her to take care of me alone. She would work all day long while I was at school and she was so tired all the time. She spent every evening trying to do everything she could and needed to do around the house. I knew I would not get a car or even a new outfit but I did have friends and I was going to celebrate.

My mom kissed me on my head and said she hoped I would have a great time with my friends. Then she went to her job. It was lucky for me that my birthday fell on senior skip week so we were excited to be in the clutches of graduation. I and my friends were headed to the local bowling alley. My bowling ball I was so excited to find at a garage sale for only $5. It was the prettiest blue and it fit my fingers and even wasn't too heavy for me. I didn't have to wear anything special because it was just my friends and the bowling alley.

I had got pretty good with my bowling ball. I usually got a spare most of the time. I had the occasional strike. I loved to go bowling. Especially, on evening bowling nights where they put black lights on. Everything just looks so bright and very eyecatching. It is an experience when you go. You just feel so amped up. They have great pizza there that you can order to eat right there at the alley. They even do the birthday cakes as you see at some Mexican restaurants. They come back singing happy birthday to you.

My friends had to embarrass me with the cake brought out and them singing to me. I mean why not. Regardless it was a great day. I was so excited to get home. When I did get home though there was a weird package left on the doorstep. It was a box wrapped in brown paper. On the front, it said only one thing happy birthday. Well, this box was for me but where could it have come from.

Finally, curiosity got the best of me and I had to open it. Inside was a book or what looked like a book. Well, it was more of a journal. On the first page, I found a letter. It said she was my fathers' lawyer and he knew he was dying and he had contingencies for when I turned 18. There was cash a little, info on a bank account, and keys to a car. Who gets, keys to a car dropped off on their birthday. The note said to call the lawyer and her phone number. So, I immediately called. She came picked me up and told me about the car. She said the insurance was paid up for the year. She also needed a copy of my driver's license. I told her I had not got the new one yet for being 18 I had intended on getting it the next day. She then showed me the car. I just purchased it today as per your father's request. I hope you like it. It was a white car with black accents. What is it? It is a 2021 Nissan Sentra. I was told to research when you turn 18 the popular car for teenagers that is affordable on insurance just for you. So it is yours' dear. Words had escaped me. It was a day I would never forget. Who would have thought a brown paper-wrapped box could change my life in that way.

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Crystal Dawn Lesher

I am a mother of 2 amazing children. That does all sorts of things to try to keep my family taken care of.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.