Families logo

A Christmas to remember!

memories to last....

By Jack Wayne ArnettPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2

Trickle sounds of the beating rain just outside my windows pane bring a sense of calm to the chaos just inches outside. My head resting, calm and at peace til the light patter of feet come to the foot of my palatial bed.

Lifting my head to gaze the encounter, nothing there but shadows cast from the candles still burning upon the desk, What visitor has come? My feline companion? No, he never pays me a visit. But alas it must? I muster my failing feet to the floor and struggle to my rigid feet. What haunts me this lonely Christmas eve? I call out, "Razz? Is that you to come visit? Did Destiny forget to feed you tonight before she left for home?" I stumbled forward to the beds edge, but alas a mystery greets me?! Nothing there but old decayed wooden boards of the floor and elegant bed frame? "Perhaps he scampered away and nothing more? I should check his food I though.

Walking down the hall I see that only the bright moon outside comes through the windows to illuminate my house. Looking down stairs I recall the years of past when the house was full of life, full of laughter and warm with the closest of friends and family. Now the years have past and the many have become fewer and fewer. These days Christmas brings me such longing, such sorrow of better days. I do miss those days with all my heart. I feel each year I slowly fall apart . The pieces of my heart as each dear one does soon part.

I come down to the family room and now I hear not the scamper of feet, but the laughs of those dear ones that have long part. A sigh I breath out as I slide into the large chair I would sit as the sounds seemed to grow to murmurs of children playing, the sounds of a jolly toast to many great years to come. A tear rolls down my cheek and wish for a end to this madness of loneliness and solitude. What tortures must come this night. Is not a soul alive to bring even just a moments joy? These phantoms of better days now persuade me close my eyes and never open again! I heed the call as my tears well up as I sob in agony. I open again with the view a blur of tears and broken lights and shadows. I cant hold time still, life goes on. What measure of greed would it be to wish upon the glows of lights in my teary eyes to have just 1 friendly face to converse this night. Eyes close again for just a moment.

The sounds of joyous music fill the room, what angel brings me comfort and torture this night? The deafening sound of a bell startles me! The singing, louder and louder! The angel of music visits me this night? Is it the angel to bring me to the heavenly estates of the after life? Again the bell chimes and a knocking sound. The singing continues as the glow of candle light pieces from the window. With the vigor of a younger man I rush for the door as the singing of angels continues to fill my mind! Alas my time alone is over, I will come home to all those that left me here! I cry as the thoughts of my dear wife, by closest friends and family that long left come to mind Behind that door I will meet my eternity, my maker and alas my love. Joy fills my heart!

I throw the door open in a flurry as I cry out Constance! The scene, not the dear beloved but many strange and familiar faces bearing candles and books sang out as a chorus of angels to my still beating heart. I fall to my knees and look at those outside my chamber door. At once, the chorus stopped and silence befell my ears as the murmurs of strange voices conversed. Merry Christmas Grandpa! Then the sounds of many repeating with warm wishes and Merry Christmas! What foul trick is this I declared! People began to stream past me into the house and a young man now bringing me inside. The room now aglow with many lights, gifts, song and delicious smelling food. I sat down upon my chair once again as the warmth of the people began to bring my tired bones back to life. No, this is no trick! I received many hugs, many warm wishes and smiles. Each face bringing back memories of all the children I have seen come to this world both by me and Constance. Even their children's children and many more! Each greeting was a gift and each gift was a reminder of how I would miss being here. Not yet time to pass I thought. Not this year at least! Tears of joy now filled my heart. The smile on my face seemed contagious as every voice sang out a joyous concert of memories and pride in what great wonder this life has indeed brought me. Merry Christmas! Merry Christmas indeed!

literature
2

About the Creator

Jack Wayne Arnett

I enjoy writing in many genres. My favorite is horror, but I also enjoy poetry, romance and military life. I love the challenge of writing outside my comfort zone as a challenge. I live in Riverside, California and have 5 daughters.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.