Families logo

A Busy Mom’s Must-Have Mattress for a Full Night’s Rest

How Lull transformed @MillennialMomTV’s sleepless nights into restful bliss

By Jenna BarnettPublished 4 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read

Supported ByLull

4

This morning at 5:30 am, my 4-year-old quietly entered our room, walked right up to me and woke me up by physically peeling my eyes open and shrieking, “MAMA! WAKE UP!” Yes, it was as terrible as it sounds. While I can’t do much about how she wakes me up, I can do something about the quality of sleep I get (when I can actually get it).

I’m a mom of two kids. Lucy is 4 and Nora is 7 months old. Between shuffling Lucy to and from preschool, dance classes, gymnastics and play dates and Nora waking up for middle-of-the-night feeds and snuggles, I’ve learned that being tired is the name of the game when it comes to motherhood. But the hardest part of the mama exhaustion and middle-of-the-night wakeups is that I have such a hard time falling back to sleep. I knew I needed to start getting better nights’ sleep and figured it’d be best to start at the foundation, so we decided to find a new mattress.

Mattress shopping as a mama

Have you ever taken a baby and a toddler to a mattress store? I do not recommend it. Every mattress became a trampoline and we got a lot of side-eye from other patrons. Not only was it stressful thanks to my kids, but there were too many options that all seemed exactly the same! The sales rep made our search even more confusing by providing us with too much information. Eventually, all the mattresses felt and looked the same. After that experience, we decided to forego the traditional route and take our search to the Internet.

My husband and I listed out what we each wanted in a mattress. As someone who exercises and lifts weights 3-5 times per week, I wanted a mattress on the firm side that would better support my spine and muscles as a side-sleeper. I’m also a hot sleeper, so a mattress that stays cool was very important to me. My husband, on the other hand, is a stomach-sleeper who loves a cushy, pillow-y mattress. Lastly, we both agreed that we didn’t want to spend a lot. I wasn’t quite sure how we would find a mattress that fit each of our opposing needs, until I found Lull. What’s awesome about Lull is that they offer a risk-free, 365-night trial where they will ship your mattress right to your doorstep. If you don’t love it within the first 365 nights, they will send a courier to pick it up for free and give you a full refund. And, no, you don’t need to get it back in the box. Now THAT is what I call risk-free!

Something else that caught my attention about Lull was the fact that all of the materials in their mattresses are non-toxic and non-carcinogenic. That’s important to me, since I have little kids and we spend a third of our lives sleeping.

Finding our perfect mattress

After learning all this about the mattress and reading endless stellar reviews on the Lull website, I decided to try out their king premium memory foam mattress. The price point is affordable for a luxury mattress and they offer a zero-interest payment plan (with approval through applying). In just a few days, our new Lull mattress was delivered to our door in a box. For such a high-quality mattress, I was shocked by how small the box actually was! We brought it to our room and it was almost too easy to set up. Once we got it opened up, I plopped down and felt our Lull mattress cradle my body with just enough firmness and without that sunken-in feeling you sometimes experience with memory foam. My husband and daughter then came running in and jumped into bed. It was amazing that I didn’t feel their movement! I used to wake up every time my husband would get in or out of bed. Not anymore!

Our first night of sleeping on our Lull mattress was blissful. It stays cool thanks to its breathable gel top layer that transfers heat away from the body—which is great for a hot sleeper like me. I woke up with zero aches and pains like I normally do thanks to the Lull’s support for proper alignment. Even though my kids woke me up in the middle of the night (not much I can do about that), I fell right back to sleep without any tossing and turning.

Now it’s been several days since we’ve been sleeping on our Lull mattress and my husband and I are completely sold. Our Lull mattress has the perfect balance of firmness for me and cushiness for him. I’ve also found that my muscles are less sore and I am recovering from my workouts in less time! My husband and I are both sleeping better and longer and we have more energy throughout the day, which I never thought was possible for this mama! The only downside is that we’re so comfy that it makes getting out of bed in the morning much harder! We are so impressed by Lull that we are looking into switching our 4-year-old’s mattress to a twin Lull. Maybe, just maybe, she’ll sleep in until the sun rises if she is as comfy as we are.

Get $300 off your new favorite mattress with my special link:

product review
4

About the Creator

Jenna Barnett

Hi, I’m Jenna AKA Millennial Mom! I’m a TV contributor who regularly appears on Los Angeles’ top morning news shows to share the latest must-have products and services for mamas and their families. Follow me on Instagram @millennialmomtv

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.