Families logo

6 Things Being A Mum Has Taught Me

Life lessons from toddlers.

By Tiahna - Education = ChangePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
5
My girls racing in the yard.

6 Things Being A Mum Has Taught Me:

1. It’s easy to judge others.

Just understand you could be going through the same things if not worse, with your kid.

Too often you see people passing judgement thinking their way of parenting is the right way. The truth is we are all surviving parenthood. Navigating the waters of the unknown.

Just like every person is unique so are children, and the way they need their parents to be there for them.

So I know I personally respect the people that are there to help or offer kind words, during my children’s meltdowns.

They are young and need to express themselves somehow.

2. Your children will surprise you. Everyday.

Whether it’s something they are teaching you or the names of five different dinosaurs. You will be amazed, thankful and shocked that they learnt this.

They teach us patience we didn’t know we had, conflict resolution skills are upgraded, and the kindness they show to you will sometimes have you in tears.

That’s why they are so precious.

3. Falling over just means getting back up.

When my children first learnt to walk and stumbled all the time. I realised that encouraging them and making their falls something playful and fun helped them get back up and try again with no tears, and newfound resilience.

This is something I took from them, when something doesn’t go the way you plan, think of it as a challenge and find a playful way to get through it.

There’s always something to smile about.

4. Stay curious.

My girls always have this incredible curiosity about everything around them. Yes the why, or what’s this stage can be frustrating, but it’s also incredible.

They are happy to keep learning and enjoy the discovery of new things. Finding out a stick has 20 different uses, creating toys out of plants, using leaves as imaginary dinosaur food. All of these things are learnt through their curiosity.

So the lesson they taught me is to stay curious, to keep learning and to think outside the box.

How many times have you been in a situation where you need something and give up for not having the right tool or ingredient to do it. Think outside that box and use something else.

There is always a way.

5. Dance parties are the best thing ever.

Turning music on in the loungeroom and having a dance party with my girls is the best. We all spend quality time together and enjoy being silly. Laughters fills the house and cheeks are sore from smiling.

Nothing can get you down if you have the right people around and some good music playing. It’s the little things in life that give us the best memories. This is something that I will always cherish because I know that if I’m feeling down I can just think of our dance parties and be smiling.

You don’t need a reason, just dance.

6. Adventure always.

Going out and exploring new places are one of my favourite things to do with the girls. As they get older the more places we can go.

I know that they are learning life skills and getting some exercise when we go on an adventure. Whether it’s a beach walk that turns into a swim or a trip to the park that has us all playing some imaginary game. It’s fun and keeps our spirits high.

What adventures have you taken lately? Has it been stepping out of a job and trying something new? Maybe you decided to go on a treetop adventure and face your fear of heights?

Always adventure, this teaches me to step out of my comfort zone and explore new opportunities.

So the six things I learnt from being a mum are:

1. Don’t judge.

2. Children are full of surprises!

3. Never give up.

4. Stay curious.

5. Always find a reason to smile.

6. Step out of your comfort zone.

I hope you enjoyed reading, if so share or heart. ♥️

Thanks!

feature
5

About the Creator

Tiahna - Education = Change

My main aim with my writing is to teach you something or make you question something.

Otherwise I hope you find some enjoyment from my fictional stories. 💕

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.