Families logo

2021 So Far

Our 2021

By Lauren RosePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Hello Everyone!

I hope you all had a better start in 2021 than at the end of 2020!

We have had a good start to the year, brought in 2021 together having a small celebration in our new flat. ( We FINALLY have our own room!)

At the beginning of 2021, I started looking for a new job. Wanting to get some more experience and broaden my knowledge more and learn more about Care. Weeks after looking I finally got a phone call interview and they offered me a job straight away! I was ecstatic about this new opportunity that had come my way. They offered me the hours I wanted to do and the pay is a little better than my current job. I start this new opportunity on the 19th of February and I'm incredibly nervous about it, I'll be way out of my comfort zone. (Wish me luck, haha)

Then came Graisey's Birthday, she had this in Lockdown, so we tried to make it as special as possible. We got her cupcakes, birthday cake presents and put up decorations for her. I was unfortunately working for most of her Birthday so we made the morning of it. She was down about the fact that her birthday was to be spent in Lockdown but that's something we couldn't change.

We have been in regular contact with the social services and had some information about our SGO ( Special Guardianship Order) for Grasiey. We have been approved for funding of this order so we don't have to pay for court fee's or Solicitors that we will need to be able to proceed with the SGO. This is amazing news, this means we won't need to contact Grasiey's parents if she needs medical assistance etc. This might also mean we get some financial help which is something that we haven't been getting from EITHER of her parents. We get the odd £20 from her father but that barely covers anything that is needed for her.

Just today we received a letter from the social about filling in paper work for financial help from them to go towards the items that Graisey needs and it'll go towards bills and food shopping.

My Nan has helped us out massively by giving us money for our bedroom carpet which we order last night! We are both so excited to have carpet in our room. Thank you again Nan <3

My Mum has been a rock through all of this, she has support all 3 of us from financial support to emotional support, to answering my messages at gone 12 at night to me having a break down. Even know my Mum isn't blood related to Grasiey she still treats her like family. Which I honestly cant thank her enough. So Mum if you see this. Thank you so much. We Love you <3

Masons Family have been amazing through the whole situation. They have also provided us with financial support and emotional support. They have shown Grasiey love and support from the beginning. Thank you all for showing her what a family is meant to do. We Love You <3

I will keep you all updated with the progress of the SGO, please keep your fingers crossed for us. We will have the support of the Social Workers on our side as they are the ones that suggested the SGO in the first place.

Sending you all love and positivity for a better 2021!

Love you all x

foster
Like

About the Creator

Lauren Rose

27 years old

Ex - Foster Parent

Stories of struggles, Some that I have overcome and some that I am still facing today.

Some of my stories are about the skin issues i am having. I hope to help others better understand Hidradenitis Suppurativa

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.