Families logo

10 Things About Being A Boy Mom

I always heard I would pay for my raising, but I never realized I would this quick.

By rachel westPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Being a boy mom sometimes has me questioning my sanity. Like today, my almost three-year-old stuck his head in the toilet to “wash his hair”. Thank God the water was clean, but why?!?! If that was the only thing he had done today, I would have called today a success. Trust me when I say, he can come up with some clever ideas to make his mom lose her mind. As I’m sitting here typing right now, I cannot begin to tell you how many times he has already tried to flip on me or asked for his “pippy” (sippy cup) and I just began typing. I always heard I would pay for my raising, but I never realized I would this quick.

Being a boy mom taught me they can use the bathroom in some clever places. My child is super young, but we have already found unique places to leave mom surprises. I have found poop in vents. He has peed in a shoe. Oh, and I found a diaper full of poop in the kitchen once. Oh, and for some reason their poop seems to ALWAYS get everywhere.

Boys are gross. I cannot tell you how many times he has came up to me with boogers and other unidentified liquids on his hands for me to wipe off. Do not get me started on what all he’s ate.

Boys also have no humility. They will show their private parts to anyone, no shame about it. My child has stripped off naked at family Thanksgiving, at least once. My favorite story was I went to change him at my parents’ house who live on a popular highway, and he decides to stand butt naked in the doorway.

Boys play ROUGH. We wrestle every day. If I do not walk in to pick him up without being punched or kicked, I consider it a win. At least he keeps me active. Can I count that as my exercise, fighting with my child?

Bodily noises are hilarious to any boy, no matter the age. My son and my husband both find burps and farts so stinking hilarious, and so does every other man/boy I know. Something about the male species. Trust me ladies, they always have, and they always will.

One of the best fact’s about being a boy mom is his clothes are cheaper! Well, unless you are that mom who puts your son in those girly smocked outfits because we all know you really wanted a girl. Having a boy means I can put him in jeans and a t-shirt every day, and life is just fine. I mean let’s face facts, he’s going to get it dirty anyways.

I also love how tender-hearted little boys are. If my child thinks for a second that I am going to cry, he comes over there and pats me while saying “don’t cry momma”. He tells me “Loves you momma” every day, and also has the most loving spirit if he thinks someone is hurting.

All boys are truly momma’s boys. I never truly believed it until I had my own son, but man, boys sure do love their mommas. My son is attached to my hip. I know it is not just in my cause, because my brothers and my husband are like that with their mothers also. You do not mess with a boy’s momma. They might seriously hurt you. You cannot deny the bond between a mother and her son.

The best thing about being a boy mom is fact that they can bring some much laughter and happiness to all situations. It is so hard to be upset with them around. They can make your days great with just one silly story, or just one goofy thing they decide to do.

children
1

About the Creator

rachel west

25 years old. Full-time wife/mom. Full-time employee. Full-time student. Yes, I consider that working 3 jobs. Yes, I stay busy. over 3 years clean and sober. Mental health advocate.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.