Education logo

Your Freshman Year

Quick Advice for College Freshmen

By Allie HollerPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
1
me in front of Rockwell Hall at Duquesne University 

It’s your freshman year of college. You picked a school that you love. You have one final summer with all of your friends and without the stress of school haunting you with summer assignments. I was so excited to get out of my hometown, and go to my dream school. I was accepted to Duquesne University in the winter, and ever since then I got butterflies when I thought about my future.

As move in day approaches you’ll be scared and nervous, but you’ll also be excited. It’s a new chapter, one that you’ve dreamt about for 13 years.

You move into your freshman dorm, you say goodbye to your parents, and it begins. Most of you will have roommates you don’t know. In my case, I had three other girls in one big room that I didn’t know. Most of the time when I tell people I lived in a quad they felt sorry for me, but I grew up sharing a room with my sisters, and these three girls quickly became my sisters.

I never understood how people could say they’re closer to their college friends than to the people they grew up with. Well, let me shine some light on the situation. I remember the first day we moved in like it was yesterday. I was sporting my Duquesne T-shirt and a pair of shorts. It was so hot and all I wanted to do was put on a tank top, but I had a secret tattoo that my dad didn’t know about, so I kept on the tee until they left. As soon as I got back in my room I changed and explained my secret tattoo. Might have given them the wrong impression, but that’s life. The four of us could be seen together at all of the orientation events, and pretty soon we were all best friends.

It sort of just happens. You spend everyday with them. They see you at your best and worst. When you get an A on a paper, and when you’re crying over a boy at 3 AM.

That’s another thing: relationships. I’m not going to tell you not to date, but not every guy is going to be your perfect rom-com college love. And guys, not every girl is going to be the Mila Kunis to your Ashton. Explore the world around you, meet new people, don’t close yourself off from experiencing everything you can.

You’ll need to study. I know you’ve heard it ever since your freshman year of high school, but it’s true. There will be some classes you’ll skate through, others you’ll be up late and still have to go to office hours. That’s another thing, go to office hours, go to tutoring. Use every resource possible so you can achieve your goals. Don't be embarrassed if you need extra help. My biggest advice is take classes that will actually challenge you. If you are not engaged, you are wasting your money. I pay about 300 dollars per class, so I'm not about to take a class that is unappealing.

Sometimes people ask me if college is what I expected it to be. The honest answer is no. I never expected to change majors. I never expected to become best friends with people who live states and countries away from York, Pennsylvania. College is what you make it. You can party every weekend if you want, you can study in the library everyday, but ultimately you have to make your own choices. You are responsible for yourself. But, make it a great year. Buy a planner even if you only use it once. Go to the free breakfast with the Dean.

Rule your freshman year, kick it in the butt, and watch your dreams unfold in front of you.

college
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.