Education logo

WHY I TEACH-Part 27: When You Thought It Couldn’t Get Worse

And you had to call for help.

By Kelley M LikesPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
The professional type.

A meeting with the principal after school on Friday afternoon is never a good thing. Mrs. Orian sat stoically at her desk. “You can go on in,” she said.

I cautiously opened Mr. Myers’ door and peeked in. He motioned for me to come in.

“As you know, Ms. Keen will not be returning and her classes need to be covered,” he said as he stared at something on his monitor.

“OK.” I sat down.

“You will be taking over her second-period accounting class.” He looked me straight in the eyes.

“Like next year, I’ll be teaching accounting?”

His eyes narrowed. “No, like this term, you’ll be taking her second-period class.”

“Um, no, I won’t.” I sat back in the chair and shook my head.

Mr. Myers’ neck started to turn red. “You are certified to teach accounting and you need to step up.”

“I’m already teaching a full load.”

Mr. Myers laughed. “You only teach three classes.”

“Which is a full load. I also sub almost every day.”

“So adding another class wouldn’t really be that much of a stretch.” He sat back, folded his hands, and set them on his stomach.

“You’re joking, right? Are you asking anyone else to do this?”

“We were able to combine two of Ms. Keen’s accounting classes into one class and rearrange those students’ schedules, so yes, we are asking several teachers to take on more students.”

“But an entire class?”

Mr. Myers shifted in his seat and placed his hands on his desk.

“So, wait a minute, the accounting class you want me to teach will have over 25 students in it?”

“43.”

“Why don’t you hire a long-term sub?”

“Why, when you are certified to teach accounting, would I hire an unqualified substitute?”

“So you want me to teach another class of 43 kids during my planning period, so I wouldn’t have a break all day?”

“You will have your lunch period.”

“I’m sorry, I think my brain just stopped working. Is a 43 person class even legal?”

“Chorus has on average 55-60 students per class.”

“Yes, and the chorus teacher only teaches two classes.”

“She also has the responsibility of helping with the plays and concerts.”

“I have Industry Certification and FBLA.”

Mr. Myers made a dismissive gesture with his hand. “I don’t really see that you have a choice in this matter if you want your contract renewed for next year.”

That statement hit low. “Will I be paid for this extra class?”

“Ha!” He rocked back in his chair. “No.”

“My current contract is for three classes. If I’m going to take on this fourth class, my pay should reflect it.”

“It’s not going to happen. I’ll just make sure you are assigned to be the sub in there every single day.”

“You know what, Mr. Myers, let me talk it over with my county teacher’s representative and I’ll get back to you. I had the opportunity to teach Mrs. Field’s daughter Bethany my first year of student teaching. Really nice woman, she loves banana bread.”

Mr. Myers paled and sputtered, “That won’t be necessary.”

“I think it is.” I stood to leave.

“Don’t expect to get your contract renewed,” he spat.

“I’ll talk to her about that as well. Have a great weekend.” I headed back to my classroom and stopped in Mr. B.’s room. I put my back to the nearest wall and slid down to the ground as I started hyperventilating.

“Do you need a bag?” Mr. B. said from across the room.

I nodded my head.

He jumped up and with lightning speed delivered his empty lunch bag for me to breathe in.

It took me a minute to breathe again. I told him everything that had just happened.

Mr. B. shook his head and smiled. “That rat, he told me I had to take on additional students in all of my classes. To be a team player. I informed that turd that state law restricts the number of students allowed in certain shop classes. My shop classes. So no dice, it wasn’t going to happen.”

“Ug, are you serious? Why doesn’t he just hire someone? He has to have known Ms. Keen was leaving.”

“Money. If he doesn’t spend it, he somehow manages to pocket it.”

“I’m sorry, what did you say? How can he pocket money to pay teachers?”

“Mr. Myers has a pretty big expense account. The school pays for his car and yearly golf retreat, among other things.”

“And you know this how?”

“I’ve got friends in the right places.”

I put the brown paper bag over my mouth and breathed in and out. When I felt stable, I headed back to my classroom. An email from Mr. Myers flashed on my computer monitor.

“Please disregard our meeting. We will find another solution.”

Monday morning, a long-term sub took over Ms. Keen’s teaching responsibilities and I started to find more friends in the right places.

teacher
Like

About the Creator

Kelley M Likes

I'm a wife & mother of 5 spectacular kids, retired teacher, B+ Latter-day Saint, Recovering Codependent Guide @ www.inheritedcodependency.com.

Find my books @ www.likespublishing.com

I'm also the CEO of Likes Skincare @ www.LikesSkincare.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.