Education logo

Why do I learn history?

Is it valuable?

By Lee ZhenPoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

The earliest reading of history is an extension of children's love of listening to stories.

God, so many countries, so many times, what a treasure trove of stories.

Later, I grow up, I read history in an attempt to give myself the ability to predict the future. It seems that there will always be a time when the long good times will come to an end. When I have mastered enough stories, I will be able to see the closest thing to what is happening now, and guess what will happen next, and then be Cassandra. I read Rome in the late classical period, Fenghao in the Shilii, sixteen States in the Five Hu or the Central Plains in the Remnant Tang Dynasty, but in fact, I just wanted to stretch the point. At that time, I thought I might blow it.

And as I learned the complexity of everything, I gave up the illusion,

Reading history seems to be about digging up the good things of the past,

From now on, he stopped reading biography and read only records, and learned all sorts of strange and interesting things,

There is no better aesthetic enjoyment or imaginative release than going to the museum while looking at it.

That eager utilitarian heart will fade.

Around the same time, he discovered that studying history had great benefits for his mental health,

When I had no strength to live any longer, I thought, even if I had to stay to see the drama I had bought a ticket for,

Then I'm going to live in this world,

Seems to give yourself strange hopes and things to look forward to at certain times.

In recent years, I have found that the analysis method of materials I learned in studying history is very useful in dealing with complicated information in life. I can reconstruct an event between complicated first, second and third hand information, how to cut materials to efficiently describe a thing when there are many things to say, and how to distinguish the credibility of the source of materials. It's a good life skill that you can use when you're not expecting it. At this point, I don't want to make any predictions. Let the new generation do the same.

Up to now, I have found another habit of thinking brought by my love of history. I repeatedly play a thought game to measure the events or decisions happening at the moment in the hypothetical future history, and try to write about the present as a historian of the future. Which of my omissions is most likely to be the harbinger of bigger problems to come? What will I most admire and regret five years from now when I look back? After asking, what would have been written down, assuming things went well? If things go wrong, which ones are being attributed? This is true of oneself, the size of things around you.

Of course, when you're too tired or bored,

I'll go back, too. It's just a story and a picture book.

The greatest value of history is to answer why our society is the way it is today.

If you just want to read a story for fun, a novel will do the trick;

If you want to run a country and make the world peaceful, systematic study of politics is more reliable;

If learning the way to treat people, systematic study of psychology, social society more effective;

If it is to study if money, better read economics;

...........................

Before there was a systematic division, it was possible to read history to learn about political intrigue, business operations, after all, these are living cases, after all, these are entertaining, interesting stories. However, with such meticulous division of disciplines today, I think the functions of history can be completely replaced by more systematic and comprehensive disciplines. But it can systematically tell us why today's society is the way it is, and history has its uses.

But tell us why this is so, not so that we can carry the burden of history, but so that we can carry it lightly!

student
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.