Education logo

When I was pregnant with epilepsy

Life with epilepsy and pregnancy

By Dr. Airy BangashPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
3
When I was pregnant with epilepsy
Photo by Bret Kavanaugh on Unsplash

By jesse orrico on Unsplash

As a pregnant woman with epilepsy, I faced a unique set of challenges on my journey to motherhood. From dealing with frequent seizures to managing medication changes, it was a rollercoaster ride that tested my patience and strength.

By Suhyeon Choi on Unsplash

I had a love marriage. We knew each other for 5 years. I used to have seizures since my childhood. At 1st I hide my medical condition from my fiance, I should not do it but I was afraid, very much afraid of losing him. He was so handsome yet very hot and cute with hazel brown eyes light in color. aah so much I was in love with him, but it was 2 sided love.

He came to know about it when I once collapsed in front of him about 1 month before our marriage. He was so afraid of seeing me unconscious. Everyone there could see the love and care in his eyes for me. When I came to my senses the first sentence that he told me was “HONEY YOU WERE LOOKING VERY CUTE”. He never asked me why I hide it.

We were happily married. After an year, When I first found out that I was pregnant, I was filled with excitement and joy. But as an epileptic patient, I also knew this journey would not be easy. My doctor advised me to switch my medication to one that was considered safer for the baby. It was a tough decision, but one that I knew was necessary for the well-being of my child.

Things weren’t smooth sailing from there. Seizures became a regular occurrence, and I had to balance the need for rest and sleep with taking care of my growing fetus. I felt guilty and anxious about not being able to give my baby my all, but I tried to keep reminding myself that I was doing everything in my power to ensure a healthy pregnancy.

By Julia Zyablova on Unsplash

Aside from the physical challenges, there were also emotional hurdles to overcome. I worried about how my condition would affect my baby and if I would be able to handle motherhood with my epilepsy. But with help from my support system, including my partner, family, and healthcare providers, I was able to stay strong and push through.

By freestocks on Unsplash

I also found solace in connecting with other pregnant women with epilepsy through support groups online. Hearing their stories and sharing mine made me feel less alone in this journey.

As the due date approached, I experienced mixed emotions of excitement and fear. But with my doctors’ help, I delivered a healthy baby girl via C-section. Seeing her for the first time made all the challenges worthwhile.

Now, as a mother with epilepsy, I continue to face obstacles, but I am determined to be the best parent I can be for my child. I hope that my story can inspire others who may be going through similar experiences to know that they are not alone and that with the right support and care, it is possible to have a healthy pregnancy and be a great parent despite having epilepsy.

By engin akyurt on Unsplash

I have learned to prioritize self-care and manage my epilepsy to ensure that I am always present and able to care for my child. This includes taking my medication as prescribed, getting enough sleep, eating well, and avoiding triggers that can cause seizures.

I have also educated myself and those around me about epilepsy, so they understand what to do if I have a seizure. This has helped me feel more confident in my ability to care for my child and ensure her safety.

Overall, having a baby with epilepsy has been challenging, but it has also been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. I am grateful for the support and care I received and the joy that my daughter brings to my life every day.

By Nihal Karkala on Unsplash

There was also some guidance after delivery. The doctor advised me not to have many babies in the future. I was also asked to wash my baby on the floor. I was on medicine as usual. I was not allowed to carry my baby while standing because seizures can cause him to fall on the ground and injured.

There were many such changes that I had to make but life is beautiful with caring and loving people. Whenever I see my baby smiling I am proud of myself.

If you like my story please subscribe me, I am a new writer. you can hire me on Fiverr for content writing. Contact me at [email protected]

Please have a look at my other articles

This story was originally published on Medium

interview
3

About the Creator

Dr. Airy Bangash

I am a writer on Medium and now join Vocal. I am a doctor by profession.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • noor11 months ago

    informative!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.