Education logo

What Student Loans Actually Earned Me

(and some things it didn't)

By Kisa HartPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
What Student Loans Actually Earned Me
Photo by Dom Fou on Unsplash

When I first started school, I was pretty sure that going to college was the best way to get a good job and succeed in life. Not that I didn't know there were other paths - I definitely did - but I wanted to be an engineer, and that required higher education. So, I went.

What I didn't know, at the time, was the financial burden I was taking on. I went to a small private school with an incredible internship program and a scholarship that covered 60% of my tuition. That sounds like a lot, but I still l left with $75,000 in student debt. My minimum payments that next fall started at $750 per month.

On top of that, I didn't end up getting a job at an engineering firm. I chose a nonprofit, where my work is meaningful but underpaid. I don't make what an engineer would typically expect to, and so the debt I took on to get there felt even more impossible. My salary was under $50,000 and stayed that way for 2.5 years, even though I lived in a pricy city in California.

It wasn't all bad, though. Here's what I gained (even as I lost half my income for the four years after college):

1. The best friends I could have imagined

Yep, I'm talking my college roommates - not the ones I was placed with randomly my freshman year, but the ones I met in my favorite classes and clubs and everywhere else. They had similar interests, cared about the things I cared about, and we spent endless hours together.

Even after college, I'm still in touch with most of them - and they're some of the greatest people I know.

2. A frugal mindset that'll save me millions in the long run

If I had graduated without debt and gotten a high-paying job right out of college, I might never have been forced to live way below my means. I paid off my debt early, and if I keep up my current pace, I'm likely to be able to retire in 15 years, while most people are looking at a solid 40-year career plus some.

I missed out on some nice meals and trendy clothes, but really, I've always had everything I needed and more. I know how to be content with what I have, and although I still sometimes wished I'd done more over the summer to pay for school as I went, this was a lesson I needed in motivation and doing impossible-sounding things.

3. A job I had no idea I wanted

There's nothing magical to this, but I was at the exact right place at the right time. The nonprofit reached out to schools with my program, and I happened to respond to the email. I never planned to go into global health, or anything remotely like it. Tons of people I knew wanted to travel and save babies - but I wanted something stable, maybe eventally rewarding. My parents were both accountants, so my bar for "interesting" was set pretty low.

Despite the hundreds of jobs I was applying to, things only worked out for me when something fell into my lap. Like in most things - I had no control over this. I got my offer a week before graduation, after months of stressing about being behind because all my friends had their jobs set up before Christmas. I had been so sure that I had wasted four years only to end up broke, unemployed, and living with my mother... and then, suddenly, everything was fine and I had the most interesting job I'd never heard of.

4. I met my husband in the middle-of-nowhere-California

When I told people I was moving to California, they all pitured San Francisco or LA. Glamorous, high-tech, bustling cities with great reputations for young populations and lots of things to do.

What I got was much less interesting. I lived in the Central Valley, squished between the uber-expensive Bay area and Yosemite National park. Modesto, California. Nothing particularly interesting happens there, it's more of a transitory place between interesting places.

I still managed to stay long enough to meet the love of my life, though. We got married at a courthouse, in the middle of the pandemic, and I've never been happier. We were both only there for a few years, and yet somehow, we crossed paths at a time where neither of us was traveling and we were both open to seeing what happened.

5. Student debt motivated me to start a business

I've tried it all, these past few years. Food delivery apps, secret shopping, freelance writing... you name a popular side hustle, and I definitely gave it a shot. But, the thing that finally stuck was starting my own business.

Selling didn't come naturally to me, but developing products and building things did - the rest just came together with time. I learned that everything is figure-out-able, and I have been googling my way through it all ever since.

This has translated into new friends, interesting experiences, and a revived passion for doing something that isn't work. Which, given the global epidemic we're living through, has probably protected my sanity more than I could have known a couple years ago.

So, what did my degree and debt not get me?

The point here isn't that everyone should run out and get a college degree that costs tens of thousands of dollars - far from it. None of what I gained was actually contingent on my degree, or my major. And, there are probably a million other great versions of this story that could have happened had I chosen a different school or internship.

The point is that you don't necessarily get what you expected out of a four year experience, whatever it is. I though I was going to school to learn math and science and become an engineer - I've used almost none of that since graduating, and frankly, I didn't enjoy it much anyway.

I learned a ton - but more important than any equation was what I found out about myself, my friends, and my goals.

degree
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.