Education logo

What I Learned while Teaching

Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.

By InfiniteFlamePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
4
What I Learned while Teaching
Photo by Yannis H on Unsplash

I spent my last night preparing for classes, introducing myself in front of the mirror, making jokes that I will tell in class, and planning questions and answer sessions. As I neared class, my confidence dwindled and my heart rate soared. My first day as a teacher in the classroom left me feeling both delighted and anxious. However, I tried not to worry too much and reminded myself that even the most experienced instructors are nervous about seeing new pupils at the start of each school year.

Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.

-Benjamin Franklin

I think I had taken the burden of these lines. Many think that these are just words but they are not. These lines forced me to search for innovative ways to engage with pupils and make them active participants in the classroom.

So before each session on the first day, I took a big breath, looked around my new classroom, concentrated on my lesson plans, and remind myself of all I'd done to get to where I was. It was time to kick off the new start on a high note! My first day was all about introductions and making a good first impression. I think it was a missed opportunity. I failed to find new ways other than a simple introduction to engage with students. But what will you take other than an introduction on the first day?

Looking back, I believe my first day of teaching was spent learning rather than instructing. Early preparation, I believe, was the key to a successful first day. Fun activities, rather than basic introductions, would have been a great approach to make a first impression. pupils will not participate unless you spark their attention and excitement by highlighting interesting topics.

How my collegue Introduced himself:

Your introduction must aim towards Teacher-Student bonding. We all know technology has pentrated into education. And he uses technology efficiently while interacting with pupils. He made a slideshow of his photographs where he put all the photos of his life moments. With the basic introduction of himself, he showed all the places he visited, fun moments with his friends. He described all this in a funny way and told them fun facts about visited places. It kept pupils engaged. As a result of it, now students are his friends, they respect him, and never hesitate to share their problems with him.

Also read -> How E-learning can make Homeschooling better

By NeONBRAND on Unsplash

It has been two years since I commenced my profession in the education field. But this journey was more of learning and understanding by acting like a mature student. Following are the lessons I learnt while teaching:

  • Learning is like inhaling, a never-ending source of life.
  • Pupils are not empty boxes that can be filled with bits and pieces of knowledge; they are distinct individuals in an unending process of individual and collective development. So, try to understand most of them and teach in their ways. Make it kinder and easygoing.
  • To accept and develop your potential and vulnerabilities, you must first open your mind. It will strengthen your socioemotional bond with students.
  • Try to make classroom activities collaborative. Put yourself into the student’s universe because learning should be mutual and responsive.
  • Never judge your students with their exam performance. Try to find their inner excellence and help them to promote that skills. Show empathy towards them.
  • Be ready to listen. Classrooms are evolving entities. Circulation of ideas will promote active education
  • Teach them how to use education to counter life challenges.
  • Indulge them in skill-improving activities.

If I had any advice, it would be to be open and honest with your pupils. That means a lot. Don't attempt to put yourself on a higher level than them simply because you feel you have "more information." Create a class structure that allows your pupils to have faith in you. Every time I walked into a classroom, I wondered, "How might this topic make these kids different today?"

Believe that teaching may make a difference in a student's life.

teacher
4

About the Creator

InfiniteFlame

Writer and enthusiastic about New World. I like to share the values of Democracy, Eqality, Humanity.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.