Education logo

What does “news”mean to you?

A question about what news really is

By A.A.C.Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1
What does “news”mean to you?
Photo by Amanna Avena on Unsplash

Is there something that makes you question why something is referred to by that given name? Have you ever had an interesting fact that while it may seem interesting to you but others might think, “Really”? Cue the eyerolls because I can hear them virtually, but I have an interesting fact about the news that might grasp some people. Ever since I was 10 years old, I always questioned everything or thought everything has multiple meanings or maybe just maybe, how did we call certain things by their name? How far do we question everything until it comes off as a conspiracy theory? Well, I mean I wouldn’t call myself a conspiracy theorist but I will say that I do few things have multiple meanings and I would love to expand my thinking.

Have you ever wondered about “news”? Where did the name come from, what is the origin of the name? Well, when I was 10, I made an interesting discovery: Have you ever noticed that News stands for: North. East. West. South? Well crazy right? I think that is the reason for the name “news” because news comes in all directions; whether location or the political spectrum (left or right wing), the news is a metaphor and literal sense of coming from locations all over.Think about it. The news comes from all over the world and it is to be reported whether in the North, East, West or South. Furthermore, it also helps that in the news, we also focus on the weather. The weather is a key part in area from all over. Whether it is wind coming from the west, a blizzard in the east, a hurricane in the south or a snow storm in the north.

Now, as I said before, I believe that things have multiple meanings. The acronym that I put for news may not mean what I mentioned (North, East, West and South). However, I also have another assumption, even though it might come off as far-fetched and a little cooky.

Now, the news is something that is controversial and notorious for always having almost 100% negativity. So, in my house my parents always watched the news, but I sometimes, or well used to when I was 10 say “why are you guys watching the Negative Energy World Station?” My parents were confused as to what that meant until I said “the news?” While they were a bit annoyed, I mean who wouldn’t with a cynical 10 year old, they were amused by the acronym. I mean you can’t argue that the news is ALWAYS so negative. I mean for the past few years it is rare to hear anything that is good. I mean I called it the “Negative Energy World Station” because the news was so positive. It always brought negative energy from all over the world. I mean, have you ever heard someone say, “I need to feel good, I am going to watch the news!” ?

I know, this “fact” is quirky, but it does make you wonder about the news and what meaning(s) are behind it. One should wonder if the news just gets its name just because or if someone wanted to have fun while using a pun. Is it interesting? Fun? Sounds like a conspiracy theory? Well one has different opinions but at least you now have a pretty interesting concept on the idea of news. Whether if you think of it as North, East, West, and South or my concept of “Negative Energy World Station”, I think that we can all agree that the news is a necessity that can make one think, learn and most important be thankful for the information that we get from them.

interview
1

About the Creator

A.A.C.

I want to see if I have a career in writing and put it to the test

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.