Education logo

Ways to Make Your University Experience Better

Part 2

By Ashley TobinPublished 6 years ago 7 min read
Like

As a university student, especially if you are just starting out, it can be stressful trying to balance your social life and your schoolwork. Not only that, but it can be difficult to keep track of your money. With all the textbooks, groceries, school supplies, and tuition, it is hard to keep up with all the spending.

Being a second-year student, I have learned a couple of tricks and tips that have helped me keep everything in line. If you haven't seen my first article, you can check it out here:

To continue from my previous article, I have a couple of tips that can help. There will be a couple of tips that will be repeated in this article, but I can assure you that these tips will work if you choose to use them! Without further ado, let's get started.

1. Use SelfControl.

In my last article, the first thing that I mentioned was SelfControl. SelfControl is an app that, as far as I know, is only available to those who use MacBooks. SelfControl is a free app that blocks websites that you use frequently, so you can't access them while you are doing schoolwork. I have used this app, and I absolutely love it. The app includes a timer, which means that you can't access any sites you list in this app until the timer runs out, even if you delete the app. For any student, whether it's your first year or not, I highly recommend using it.

2. Colour-code courses.

I'll admit that in my first year, I didn't do this. I would take the wrong binders to class, and I wouldn't have any of the material that I needed for class. I would highly recommend color-coding all of your courses. For example, English can be the colour red or Spanish can be blue. It makes keeping up with your courses a lot easier.

3. Use a dry-erase calendar.

For any student, a dry-erase calendar or even a dry-erase board can be helpful. The perks of using a dry-erase calendar, you can write down all of your assignments and test dates, and then once the month is over, you can just erase and start a new month. I have started using it my second-year and it has been making my year a lot smoother.

4. Use a planner.

I haven't thought much about this, but when I started using a planner, it also made my year a lot better. Whether it is paper or you use an app on your phone, it is great to add your dates to a planner. If you are anything like me, I like to physically cross things off a list. It gives me a great sense of satisfaction and it really works for me.

5. Start a budget.

One bad habit that I am ashamed to admit is that I don't know how to properly save money. Once I get a paycheque, I almost immediately spend it. As a student, who has no part-time job, I had to learn how to save and create a budget. I use the app called Mint. It shows me what I'm spending my money on and for each category (i.e. restaurants, groceries, etc). I can create a budget for how much I spend in a month. I am slowly working on being able to save money, but I find that this is working for me.

6. Use Flipp.

Speaking of saving money, I use an app on my phone called Flipp. Flipp downloads all the flyers for stores that you shop at. It tells you what you can save on and suggest coupons for certain items. Just recently, I discovered that you can add all of your loyalty cards to the app, which is cool. As well, they offer rebates on certain items, so you can get money back for each offer purchased.

7. Buy second-hand books.

All through my first year, I bought brand-new books. Most of my books were in the $100-200 range, and I thought that it was overkill. After talking with friends, who happened to be one year ahead of me, they have told me to look online for students who are selling their textbooks. Most schools have Facebook groups dedicated to students selling their textbooks. I would highly recommend doing this because you will get good quality books, but for half the price of a brand-new book. It saves a burning hole in your pocket.

8. Use Job Spotter.

A new app that I have tried is called Job Spotter. Again, I am not sure if this will work on all phones or not, but it is an app that has you take pictures of hiring signs and the businesses putting them up and you earn points for Amazon gift cards. Even if there are not any signs up, you can still earn points by verifying the signs and businesses. For those who are a skeptic, I have tried this app and it works. The more points you get, the more money goes into your gift card. I would recommend this for those who don't have a job yet.

9. Don't skip class.

On the first day of classes, your professor will tell you to not miss any classes. Unless you really have to, do not miss class. I can promise you that it is a bad idea. If you are deathly sick or if it has to do with mental health, then you have a valid reason to not go. I'm not saying that you may not have a valid reason, but when you skip class, you are missing material that is being taught in class. These are the notes that will most likely not end up online. If you happen to miss a class, then ask any of your friends or a classmate in the same class for notes you may have missed.

10. Join school clubs.

One of the ways that I made friends was to join school clubs. I only joined one or two clubs, but it worked for me because I wasn't overbooked with meetings and schoolwork. School clubs are a great way to make friends and to be a part of your school. If there isn't a club there that you want to join, take a chance and create a new club!

11. Take advantage of office hours.

At the university that I go to, all professors have office hours. Professors have these office hours so students can go see them and ask questions about something that was taught in class. Please take advantage of them. If you are having trouble with something, go to your professor and ask for help. That's what the office hours are for. If you feel uncomfortable with going to your professor's office, try emailing them! Either way, they will be there to help you.

12. Use Quizlet.

For studying, I like using Quizlet. You can make online booklets and once they are made, it can quiz you and help you focus on what challenges you the most. I've only used this once, but I found that it has worked for me.

13. Use Grammarly.

One of my big time writing tips, especially as I am an English major, is to use Grammarly. Although I study English, there are times where I do need extra help. When I finish writing my papers, I put it through Grammarly. This app helps with word choice and punctuation. It is completely free to use, but if you want more help, you can buy a premium package. I haven't used the premium version, but the free version is great to use.

14. Use on-campus resources.

Besides the help of a professor, there are multiple resources on campus that are there for students to use. I have used some of these resources, and I can tell you that it is great to have them available. If you have trouble with writing, use the Writing Centre. There are student tutors that are willing to help you with certain subjects. As well, they have a counseling center and many hotlines available for those who need to talk with someone. It is great to know that there are other resources available.

These are some of the tips that I can suggest for incoming university students. If you are moving away from home, I know how it feels to be so far away from home, as I have went to a different area. However, you will get to enjoy your year. I hope that you will try or use some of the tips that I have suggested. If you do, let me know how they worked for you! Good luck with your studies!

college
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.