Education logo

Vocal:The Side Job

How I got here in the first place...

By Stacie EvansPublished 4 years ago β€’ 3 min read
2
Multitasking is a thing. Look it up.

Le College Experience

Do you remember your college experience? Did you get to join all the clubs; the Greek societies; be in all the fun parties while juggling homework and exams? Or were you forced to hold down a part-time job just to pay for your tuition? Maybe you were forced to be a commuter student due to both the housing costs and the ridiculous parking prices.

I was the latter. The only party I was able to attend was the Pink Nation campus party, and even then I couldn't stay. I had to go to work the next day. The tuition was somewhat reasonable due to the fact that I was a commuter student taking the bus because the semester passes were the cheapest on campus. No fighting for parking spaces; no paying close to US$900 a year on parking garages.

What's that got to do Vocal? Hold on, I'm getting there...

Le Retail

So say you've been forced to hold down a job while juggling classes and finals. No room for clubs and parties. You're already adulting as you're paying for your own bills and filing taxes. Then you finally graduate, congrats. You begin your job search in hopes they'll accept your degree, and maybe if you're lucky, your job experience.

You have to write the cover letter. Your resume is all wrong. You must tailor everything for the position you're applying for.

The whole thing turns you off. You know you need to leave your part-time job that pays you so little despite being the backbone of the company. You get comfortable with most cool managers and equally cool employees.

The new year begins, and the company is making distract changes. No chance of ever being promoted from within. Depressing, right? So you finally begin your job search for full-time jobs, regardless if you have experience or not. You constantly tailor both your resume and cover letter. You get nothing but silent treatment. Then comes that virus that's making everyone buy toilet paper. It's giving you a mental breakdown. Not as bad as the Queen Britney Spears, but that's what it feels like to you.

Le Side Hustle

Then one day at work, you got an idea on how you could somehow utilize your degree. You decide to get a side job. Make a little money here and there, while working at your main job.

That pretty much sums up my current situation. It's depressing, and I have no idea when things will ever change. But it's something, and I'd rather have something than nothing. Might as well put my English degree to use once, right?

What to Expect

So here's the thing about me: I'm a young adult/new adult drama writer on Wattpad. I'm not Wattpad famous, nor will I ever be famous on that website. Yes, I know about the stigma; but I do plan to publish my Wattpad series, The One, traditionally. On top of that, I'm a pop songwriter who's making music to coincide with The One Series.

At the moment, I'm not making any coin from my projects, so I'm hoping I'll get that through here.

So now we can get to the good stuff:

There may or may not be a schedule, but at the moment, there will be one Vocal post a week. I'm aiming for Friday evenings, but that's no guarantee. There'll be random posts, such as makeup posts, fashion posts, college posts, anything related to The One Series, possible poems and songs, maybe book reviews, and any news that might come up.

All this might be seem shallow and vain, but let's be real here: Life sucks, and we all have to suck it up. But that doesn't mean we don't want to relax our minds just for a few minutes a day or so. So put your pretentious behaviors aside, and enjoy whatever content I put out.

student
2

About the Creator

Stacie Evans

I'm a young adult/new adult drama/romance writer and a pop songwriter. My books are on Amazon and my music on SoundCloud. I'm switching from my Covid lockdown articles to works of fiction and songs. Hope you'll enjoy my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.